clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

American Volleyball Coaches Association Announces All-Region Awards; Nebraska Players and Coach Honored

Six Husker volleyball players were named to the AVCA North All-Region Team:
Bekka Allick (2nd AVCA All Region selection)
Merritt Beason (2nd AVCA All Region selection)
Andi Jackson (1st AVCA All Region selection)
Harper Murray (1st AVCA All Region selection)
Bergen Reilly (1st AVCA All Region selection)
Lexi Rodriguez (3rd AVCA All Region selection)

This ties the 2016 Nebraska team as the most players in program history for this honor in a single year. There are 14 players on each regional team. In the North region, six of those players are from Nebraska. There are a total of 10 regional teams.

Being named to the All Region Team is the first step in earning the possible All American Honor. The votes and awardees for All American are announced December 13th prior to the final four being played.

Along with being named to the All Region team Merritt Beason was named the North Region Player of the Year. Harper Murray was named the North Region Freshman of the Year. Coach John Cook was Named the North Region Coach of the Year. That is every individual award for the North Region; A sweep of a different kind for Nebraska volleyball.

Creighton was also honored by the AVCA. Kendra Wait, Ava Martin and Kiana Schmitt made the East Region Team. Creighton’s Kiersten Bernthal Booth is the East Region Coach of the Year. Creighton and Nebraska play again in NCAA Sweet 16 action on Thursday.