clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Spencer Schwellenbach Wins Top Two Way Player Honor

Jon Johnston

All-around incredible athlete, Nebraska baseball player and great guy Spencer Schwellenbach was announced today as the 2021 winner of the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award.

Schwellenbach earlier won the 2021 Big Ten Player of the Year and is a semifinalist for the Golden Spikes Award, given to college baseball’s best player of the year.

Our man Spencer was already unbelievable, but this season he started pitching. He was Nebraska’s closer (COFFEE IS FOR CLOSERS!), where he kicked ass, finishing the season with a 0.57 ERA, pitching 32.2 innings over 18 appearances. He allowed two runs (holy cow!) all season and struck out 34 batters.

As an offensive player he finished the season in the top 10 in conference in runs, RBIs, and walks. He started every game at shortstop where he committed only four errors in 186 chances.

I’d say Spencer Schwellenbach is a damned fine baseball player. I hope he has much luck with whatever he chooses to do in the future. I’ll miss seeing him in a Nebraska uniform.

From the Corn Nation staff - GOOD JOB SPENCER SCHWELLENBACH!

Information About the Award:

The award was started in 2010 and Schwellenbach is the first Husker to be honored with the trophy. Former Husker Jake Meyers was a finalist for the award in 2017, but lost to three-time winner Brendan McKay from Louisville

The John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award award is named for the former Washington State standout who achieved success both as a first baseman and left-handed pitcher during the late 1980s and who was inducted into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2007. The award will be presented by the College Baseball Foundation during the virtual Night of Champions event on June 26.

“Every year, the quality of athletes in college baseball makes it harder and harder to narrow down to a winner for this award,” said George Watson, chairman of the John Olerud Award selection committee.” Each of our five finalists was deserving of this award. In the end, what set Spencer apart was not only his ability to have an impact in every game for the Cornhuskers, but his leadership in helping guide Nebraska to the top of the Big Ten and a berth in the NCAA postseason. We are excited to see what the future holds for him and are proud to have him represent the John Olerud Award.”