clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Spencer Schwellenbach, Max Anderson, and Will Bolt Highlight Big Ten Baseball Awards

Jon Johnston

The Big Ten announced their first, second, and third teams in baseball on Sunday morning. Spencer Schwellenbach was named the Big Ten Player of the Year. Max Anderson won the Big Ten Freshman of the Year. Will Bolt was named the Coach of the Year as the Huskers won the 2021 Big Ten Title.

Schwellenbach, a likely first round draft pick is the first Husker to be selected as Player of the Year since Alex Gordon was selected back in 2005. Spencer racked up nine saves in the regular season for Nebraska and has started every game at shortstop this year.

Anderson came onto the scene and took hold of the third base position for the Huskers. His .337 batting average is second only to Jaxon Hallmark. Anderson becomes the first Husker to be named Freshman of the Year since Chad Luensmann won the award in 2016.

Bolt won the coach of the year award after Nebraska won the league, while not being picked to finish in the top six of the Big Ten by the coaches. Bolt wins the award after Darin Erstad won the award in 2017.

Earning first team all Big Ten joining Schwellenbach was Luke Roskam, Cade Povich, and Hallmark.

Anderson made the all freshman team and was joined by Brice Matthews. Joe Acker picked up the Big Ten Sportsmanship award as well.