clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nebraska’s JoJo Domann Earns Second-Team AP All-American Honor

Domann is listed as a defensive back on the list. Could have been a linebacker as well.

Ohio State v Nebraska Photo by Steven Branscombe/Getty Images

This the first Nebraska football player to earn an AP All-American honor since 2014 in which Ameer Abdullah, Randy Gregory and De-Mornay Piersen-El also earned second-team AP All-American honors.

Here is the statement from the Athletic Department:

Nebraska senior nickel back JoJo Domann was honored for his outstanding 2021 season on Monday, being named a second-team All-American by the Associated Press.

Domann was listed as a defensive back on the second team, and was one of the nation’s most versatile defenders throughout his Nebraska career. The Colorado Springs, Colo., native played in 10 games in 2021 before being sidelined for the final two contests and made 72 tackles, including nine tackles for loss. Domann also had two interceptions and a pair of forced fumbles on the season.

Domann was also recently honored as a second-team All-American by Pro Football Focus as a Flex player, and on Sunday was named the Nebraska Defensive MVP and the winner of the Tom Novak Award.

Domann is the first Husker to earn All-America recognition from a major selector since Ameer Abdullah, Randy Gregory and De’Mornay Pierson-El each earned second-team All-America accolades following the 2014 season.

Other Big Ten Honoree’s include:

First Team

  • Kenneth Walker III, Michigan State
  • Tyler Linderbaum, Iowa
  • David Bell, Purdue
  • Jake Moody, Michigan
  • Aidan Hutchinson, Michigan

Second Team

  • Nicholas Petit-Frere, Ohio State
  • Thayer Munford, Ohio State
  • Chris Olave, Ohio State
  • Garrett Wilson, Ohio State
  • Noah Ruggles, Ohio State
  • Haskell Garrett, Ohio State
  • Leo Chenal, Wisconsin
  • David Ojabo, Michigan
  • Jaquan Brisker, Penn State
  • Adam Korsak, Rutgers

Third Team

  • C.J. Stroud, Ohio State
  • Hassan Haskins, Michigan
  • Josh Seltzner, Wisconsin
  • Jaxon Smith-Njiba, Ohio State
  • Jahan Dotson, Penn State
  • Caleb Shudak, Iowa
  • George Karlaftis, Purdue
  • Riley Moss, Iowa
  • Jordan Stout, Penn State