clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Former Husker Will Shields Named To College Football Playoff Committee

Kansas City Chiefs vs Seattle Seahawks

It was announced to today that five new members will be added to the College Football Playoff Committee and will help guide the direction of the group in the upcoming years.

The biggest name for Husker fans on the list being former Nebraska offensive tackle Will Shields. Will played at Nebraska from 1989-92. During his tenure as a Husker he received the Outland Trophy and a consensus All American. He was inducted into the 2011 College Football Hall of Fame.

After Nebraska he played 14 years in the NFL where he never missed a game. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2015. Shields will be the second former Nebraska great to serve on the committee. Former Nebraska Athletic Director and head football coach Tom Osborn previously served.

Will’s son, Shavon Shields, played basketball for Nebraska from 2012-16 and was a Second Team All Big Ten selection his senior year.

The other four new appointees that were named are Michael Barnhart who is the Athletic Director at the University of Kentucky. Boo Corrigan who is the Athletic Director at North Carolina State, Chris Del Conte who is Athletic Director at the University of Texas, & Joe Taylor who is Vice President of Athletics at Virginia Union University.