clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Nebraska Women’s Basketball Schedule Announced

Three non-conference games will be followed by a 20-game B1G conference slate

NCAA Womens Basketball: Big Ten Conference Tournament-Maryland vs Nebraska Marc Lebryk-USA TODAY Sports

Senior Kate Cain will lead her team through a 23 game schedule starting on December 4. The first two games are non-conference home games (Oral Roberts and Idaho State).

Starting on December 10, Nebraska will jump into its 20-game regular-season conference schedule at home with the first of two regular-season Big Ten games against Illinois. The game at Pinnacle Bank Arena between the Huskers and Fighting Illini will mark the earliest game for Nebraska against a conference opponent since 1981, when the Big Red faced Iowa State at the Devaney Center on Nov. 24. That was the last season prior to the Big Eight Conference adapting a standard regular-season schedule for women’s basketball in 1982-83.

The third non-conference game will be at Creighton on Monday, Dec. 14. The annual game against the Jays will tip at 5 p.m.at D.J. Sokol Arena in Omaha with live statewide television coverage by NET. Amy Williams has yet to beat the Bluejays as the Husker head coach.

The conference schedule resumes when the Huskers travel to Indiana on Sunday, Dec. 20, before playing a second straight game in the Hoosier State at Purdue on Wednesday, Dec. 23. Those two contests will be the only games for Nebraska against the Indiana schools during the regular season. The other Big Ten single plays for the Huskers in 2020-21 include a road game at Michigan (Jan. 7), a home game against Ohio State (Jan. 16), a home game against Wisconsin (Jan. 28) and a home game against defending Big Ten co-champion Maryland (Feb. 14).

Nebraska will take some time off over Christmas before returning to Big Ten home action against Northwestern on Thursday, Dec. 31. It will be the first of two meetings between the Huskers and the Wildcats, who shared the 2020 Big Ten regular-season title with Maryland. The Huskers will conclude the season series with Northwestern on Wednesday, Feb. 17, in Evanston, Ill.

In addition to the Big Ten double plays against Northwestern and Illinois, Nebraska’s season also will feature double plays against Rutgers (Jan. 3/Feb. 7), Michigan State (Jan. 10/Feb. 27), Minnesota (Jan. 19/Feb. 24), Penn State (Feb. 4/Feb. 21) and Iowa (Feb. 10/March 5 or 6).

The Big Ten women’s basketball tournament is expected to be held at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, March 9-13.

2020-21 Nebraska Women’s Basketball Schedule

(bold games are at home)

Dec. 4 (Friday) - Oral Roberts - Pinnacle Bank Arena

Dec. 6 (Sunday) - Idaho State - Pinnacle Bank Arena

Dec. 10 (Thursday) - Illinois - Pinnacle Bank Arena

Dec. 14 (Monday) - @Creighton (5 p.m.) - D.J. Sokol Arena (Omaha) - NET

Dec. 20 (Sunday) - @Indiana - Bloomington, Ind.

Dec. 23 (Wednesday) - @Purdue - West Lafayette, Ind.

Dec. 31 (Thursday) - Northwestern - Pinnacle Bank Arena

Jan. 3 (Sunday) - Rutgers - Pinnacle Bank Arena

Jan. 7 (Thursday) - @Michigan - Ann Arbor, Mich.

Jan. 10 (Sunday) - @Michigan State - East Lansing, Mich.

Jan. 16 (Saturday) - Ohio State - Pinnacle Bank Arena

Jan. 19 (Tuesday) - Minnesota - Pinnacle Bank Arena

Jan. 25 (Monday) - @Illinois - Champaign, Ill.

Jan. 28 (Thursday) - Wisconsin - Pinnacle Bank Arena

Feb. 4 (Thursday) - @Penn State - University Park, Pa.

Feb. 7 (Sunday) - @Rutgers - Piscataway, N.J.

Feb. 10 (Wednesday) - Iowa - Pinnacle Bank Arena

Feb. 14 (Sunday) - Maryland - Pinnacle Bank Arena

Feb. 17 (Wednesday) - @Northwestern - Evanston, Ill.

Feb. 21 (Sunday) - Penn State - Pinnacle Bank Arena

Feb. 24 (Wednesday) - @Minnesota - Minneapolis, Minn.

Feb. 27 (Saturday) - Michigan State - Pinnacle Bank Arena

March 5/6 (Friday/Saturday) - @Iowa - Iowa City, Iowa