clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Martinez, Barry, Davis To Represent Nebraska At Upcoming Big Ten Media Days

Real football news is getting closer!

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: NOV 03 Nebraska at Ohio State Photo by Jason Mowry/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Big Ten Media Days are coming up faster than you think!

The 2019 Big Ten Football Media Days and Kickoff Luncheon will be held Thursday and Friday, July 18 and 19, at the Hilton Chicago.

Thank goodness! We will have actual football news to discuss and not a moment too soon.

Nebraska will be represented by sophomore quarterback Adrian Martinez, senior defensive lineman Khalil Davis, and senior linebacker Mohamed Barry. Martinez and Davis were All-Big Ten Honorable Mentions last year, while Barry was selected to the Third Team All-Big Ten by media.

Hey, Scott Frost might be there too!

Here’s more on the Big Ten Kickoff luncheon:

The 48th annual Big Ten Kickoff Luncheon begins at 10 a.m. CT on July 19 with an autograph session. Around 10:50 a.m. CT, fans can get group pictures of the current coaches and students in attendance.

The luncheon begins at 11:30 a.m. and will be hosted by ESPN’s Rece Davis, who will sit down with the coaches in small groups to discuss the upcoming season. The luncheon will feature speeches by Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delany and Tournament of Roses president Laura Farber. The event will also feature highlight videos, additional student interviews by ESPN’s Laura Rutledge and much more, including door prizes highlighted by a free trip to the 2019 Big Ten Football Championship Game and the 2020 Rose Bowl Game.

Minnesota sophomore and four-time cancer survivor Casey O’Brien will speak on behalf of the students in attendance. Casey is a walk-on holder at Minnesota who was a promising high school quarterback when he noticed a discomfort in his knee. With the help of trainers and doctors at the University of Minnesota, it was discovered that he had osteosarcoma, which is a rare form of bone cancer. Casey beat his cancer and played high school football while going through chemo, but instead of playing QB, he was the team’s holder. Cancer returned three more times, but Casey has beaten it every time and is now a proud member of the Minnesota football team.

The entire list of players to be at Big Ten Media Days is as follows:



  • Coy Cronk, Sr., OL
  • Reakwon Jones, Sr., LB
  • Nick Westbrook, Sr., WR


  • Antoine Brooks Jr., Sr., DB*
  • Tino Ellis, Sr., DB*
  • Anthony McFarland Jr., So., RB*


  • Ben Bredeson, Sr., OG*
  • Jordan Glasgow, Sr., LB
  • Khaleke Hudson, Sr., LB*


  • Joe Bachie, Sr., LB*
  • Kenny Willekes, Sr., DE* (2018 Big Ten Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year)
  • Raequan Williams, Sr., DT*


  • Jonathon Cooper, Sr., DE*
  • Jordan Fuller, Sr., S*
  • K.J. Hill, Sr., WR*


  • Cam Brown, Sr., LB
  • Blake Gillikin, Sr., P
  • John Reid, Sr., CB*


  • Tyshon Fogg, Jr., LB
  • Tyreek Maddox-WIlliams, Jr., LB
  • Zach Venesky, Sr., OL



  • Reggie Corbin, Sr., RB*
  • Nate Hobbs, Jr., CB
  • Alex Palczewski, Jr., OT*


  • Michael Ojemudia, Sr., DB
  • Nate Stanley, Sr., QB
  • Toren Young, Jr., RB


  • Carter Coughlin, Sr., DL*
  • Mohamed Ibrahim, So., RB*
  • Tyler Johnson, Sr., WR*
  • Casey O’Brien, So., H#


  • Mohamed Barry, Sr., LB*
  • Khalil Davis, Sr., DL*
  • Adrian Martinez, So., QB*


  • Paddy Fisher, Jr., LB*
  • Joe Gaziano, Sr., DE*
  • Jared Thomas, Sr., C


  • Markus Bailey, Sr., LB*
  • Rondale Moore, So., WR* (2018 Big Ten Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year and Big Ten Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year)
  • Lorenzo Neal, Sr., DT*


  • Tyler Biadasz, Jr., C*
  • Chris Orr, Sr., LB
  • Jonathan Taylor, Jr., RB* (2018 Big Ten Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year)

* - indicates 2018 all-conference selections and honorable mentions

# - indicates Student Speaker at Kickoff Luncheon