clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nebrasketball: 2019-2020 Non Conference Basketball Rundown

Husker now know their opponents before the Big Ten slate takes over

Iowa State v Ohio State Photo by Jason Miller/Getty Images

The Husker Athletic Department announced the 2019-2020 men’s basketball non conference schedule.

Wednesday, Oct. 30 Doane (exhibition)

Tuesday, Nov. 5 UC Riverside

Saturday, Nov. 9 Southern Utah

Friday, Nov. 15 South Dakota State

Friday, Nov. 22 Southern

Mon.-Wed., Nov. 25-27 at Cayman Islands Classic

Wednesday, Dec. 4 at Georgia Tech (Big Ten/ACC Challenge)

Saturday, Dec. 7 at Creighton

Saturday, Dec. 21 North Dakota

Sunday, Dec. 29 TAMU-Corpus Christi

As a fan, there is little interest in this. The most exciting game on the schedule is Creighton. I will say that the South Dakota State game could be interesting as they have turned into one of the top program in the Summit League. Head coach T.J. Otzelberger is gone but they should still be a formidable team under Eric Henderson who was promoted from assistant coach.

I will also add that the Cayman Islands Classic in November could also be interesting depending on what teams Nebraska ends up playing. The Huskers have a chance of playing Colorado State, George Mason, New Mexico State, Old Dominion, Loyola Chicago, South Florida, or Washington State.

New Mexico State was the WAC regular season and tournament champions while Old Dominion won the regular season and tournament in C-USA. Both have been good squads with two very good coaches and should produce quality basketball if Nebraska ends up playing them.

From a new team standpoint, this isn’t so bad. Fred Hoiberg has done an overhaul of the squad and they will need time and a softer schedule to get their legs under them once conference play starts. Teams like Southern and North Dakota will give the team a chance to learn the system and play together while also not being pushed to their limits. Not to belittle them, but Nebraska could use some softer teams in Fred’s first year in charge.