clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nebraska County Countdown: #21 Scotts Bluff

Three weeks away

Today marks three weeks until kickoff. If it was three weeks from now, I’d be typing this around the end of the second quarter, sorry I’m so late getting this one to you guys. Today, we’re looking at Scotts Bluff County. It’s going to be a little tricky because Scottsbluff is in Scotts Bluff County, but we’ll make it work.

Scotts Bluff County is located in the panhandle of Nebraska on the western edge. As of the 2010 national census Scotts Bluff had a population of 36,970 which kind of surprises me. I really need to go out to Western Nebraska on a road-trip like my roommates did this past spring. Problem is they’re too cheap to get a hotel every night so I’m sure the car smelled great.

The county seat of Scotts Bluff is Gering and the largest city is Scottsbluff, which is confusing I know.

Scotts Bluff got its name because of the bluff that was used as a landmark on the Oregon Trail for the pioneers. The bluff is now known as Scotts Bluff National Monument.

Gering was founded at the base of the bluff in 1887. Scottsbluff was founded by the Platte River in 1900. Scottsbluff and Gering combine for the 7th largest metropolitan area in Nebraska.

There are two other cities in Scotts Bluff, Minatare and Mitchell, along with a bunch of towns/villages. The villages are: Henry, Lyman, McGrew, Melbeta, Morrill and Terrytown. Also in Scotts Bluff there’s the North Platte National Wildlife Refuge which houses the largest nesting site for bald eagles in Nebraska.

Husker Stuff:

Notable Huskers to wear number 21:

Prince Amukamara CB played for Nebraska from 2007-2010. Big 12 Defensive POY, All-American. NFL Draft 1st round in 2011, currently playing for the Chicago Bears.

Mike Brown S played for Nebraska from 1996-1999. All-American. Set single season record for tackles by a defensive back - 102. NFL - ten seasons, mostly with the Chicago Bears.

Roger Craig RB played for Nebraska from 1979-1982. Three-time Super Bowl champion with the San Francisco 49ers.

Damon Benning RB - played from 1992-1996. Currently the co-host of Sharp & Benning in the morning. Analyst for the Big Ten Network at times and KETV sports in Omaha.

Current Huskers who wear 21:

Mikale Wilbon Sr. RB

Lamar Jackson Jr. CB

The Fred Dawson-led Huskers ended the 1921 season with a 7-1 record winning the Missouri Valley Conference.