clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2018 Nebraska Football Countdown: 100

Some Cornhusker football trivia related to the number 100

2012 Arkanas State game Dennis Hubbard

It is 100 days until kickoff! Nebraska takes on Akron on September 1st and Husker fans get to see their new favorite native son lead their favorite team out of the tunnel.

To help pass the long offseason, we are going to countdown the days until real Nebraska football. Today, you get some trivia related to the number 100.

  • In 1917 Nebraska defeated Nebraska Wesleyan 100-0.
  • The 100th victory in Husker football history was on November 16, 1907 in a 63-0 road win vs Denver. The 1907 Cornhusker football team played in the Missouri Valley Conference and shared the conference title with Iowa. Both schools posted a stellar 1-0 conference record that season compared to Kansas’ 1-1; Missouri’s 1-2; and Washington’s (MO) 0-1 marks.
  • The 100th sellout in the current 361-game streak was a 42-17 come-from-behind victory over Penn State in Lincoln
  • Tom Osborne’s 100th win as the Nebraska head coach came in 1983 (his 11th season as head coach) with a 42-10 victory over UCLA. His record at that time was 100-24-2. Osborne’s first victory as head coach was also against UCLA with an eerily similar score of 40-13. Osborne and Bob Devaney are the only two Nebraska football coaches to win more than 100 games in their careers.
  • Osborne’s 100th victory came on the same day as arch-rival coach Barry Switzer earned his 100th win.
  • Mike Rozier (1983), Lawrence Phillips (1994), and Ahman Green (1997) share the Nebraska school record for most consecutive 100-yard rushing games in a season at 11. If including bowl games, Green and Rozier would share the record at 12. Within those streaks, Rozier posted four straight and Green posted three consecutive 200 yard games.
  • Not surprisingly, Rozier has the most 100 yard rushing games in Nebraska history at 26. Second is Ameer Abdullah at 24.
  • The school record holders for most 100 yard receiving games in a season (four) are: Jordan Westerkamp (2013), Niles Paul (2009), Nate Swift (2008), Maurice Purify (2007) and Johnny Rodgers (1971 and 1972).

Do you have any trivia, memories, or factoids related to the number 100 and Nebraska football? Add them in the comments below!