clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Stanley Morgan Leads Nebraska Football in Big Ten Honors

Let the discussion begin.

Nebraska v Ohio State Photo by Jamie Sabau/Getty Images

Stanley Morgan Jr led the Nebraska offense this season, and leads it again in Big Ten Honors as he was selected to Second-Team All-Big Ten by both the media and the coaches. He was a second-team selection by both groups last season as well.

Morgan was outstanding this season, setting a record as Nebraska’s first 1,000 yard receiver. He finished just over the line with 1,004 receiving yards, breaking his own record of 986 yards in 2017. He ends his career as the record holder in receptions (189) and receiving yardage (2,747). He is second in school with 22 career touchdowns, and set a record for having a reception in the final 38 games of his career.

JD Spielman finished on the third team for both groups, which are the same honors he received last season, which isn’t too bad considering he missed the final two games. Spielman had 66 catches for 818 yards and lead the team in touchdown receptions with eight. He set a single-game record with 209 yards receiving at Wisconsin.

Devine Ozigbo had a helluva season and got the recognition he deserved. He had 1,082 rushing yards and 12 touchdowns. He is the first Nebraska rusher to run 1,000 yards in a season since Ameer Abdullah did it in 2014.

Nebraska Honorees (Offense And Defense)

Big Ten Coaches

2nd Team: Stanley Morgan Jr., WR

3rd Team: Dicaprio Bootle, CB; JD Spielman, WR

Honorable Mention: Adrian Martinez, QB; Brenden Jaimes, OL; Devine Ozigbo, RB; Carlos Davis, DL; Luke Gifford, LB; Mohamed Barry, LB; Isaac Armstrong, P

Big Ten Media

2nd Team: Stanley Morgan Jr., WR

3rd Team: Devine Ozigbo, RB; JD Spielman, WR; Dicaprio Bootle, CB; Mohamed Barry, LB

Honorable Mention: Adrian Martinez, QB; Brenden Jaimes, OL; Boe Wilson, OL; Khalil Davis, DL; Luke Gifford, LB; Isaac Armstrong, P

The Complete Lists

(so you can all argue about who finished where, which will certainly start with Adrian Martinez, amirite?)

Note those Iowa tight ends.

The other question you should be asking is:

Who’s gonna step up and replace Morgan and Ozigbo next season??????