clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nebraska Players Selected For Defensive, Special Teams Honors

Here’s to hoping there are a lot more in the future.

NCAA Football: Nebraska at Michigan Detroit Free Press-USA TODAY Sports

Several Nebraska players earned honors as the Big Ten coaches and media handed out special teams and defensive awards today. Sophomore cornerback DiCaprio Bootle and junior linebacker Mohamed Barry lead the way as Bootle was awarded third team honors by both the coaches and media, and Barry was given third team honors by the media.

Nebraska’s awards, including Honorable Mentions are as follows:

Big Ten Coaches

3rd Team: Dicaprio Bootle, CB

Honorable Mention: Carlos Davis, DL; Luke Gifford, LB; Mohamed Barry, LB; Isaac Armstrong, P

Big Ten Media

3rd Team: Dicaprio Bootle, CB; Mohamed Barry, LB

Honorable Mention: Khalil Davis, DL; Luke Gifford, LB; Isaac Armstrong, P

Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Winner: Luke Gifford, Sr., LB

It’s nice to see Isaac Armstrong be recognized given that he took over punting duties mid-way through the season.

The best news is that all of our honored players with the exception of Luke Gifford, a senior, should be back next year as the defensive continues to improve.

Full Lists

The full lists by both media and coaches can be found here. 2018 Big Ten Defensive Special Teams Honors

Individual Awards

Nebraska did not win any individual awards. Here’s to hoping that changes in the future.

Northwestern’s Pat Fitzgerald was selected by both media and coaches as Coach of The Year, meaning that Ohio State will go another season without winning this honor.

Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year: Devin Bush, Michigan Named for Minnesota’s Bronko Nagurski and Michigan’s Charles Woodson

Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year (coaches vote): Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern Named for Ohio State’s Woody Hayes and Michigan’s Bo Schembechler

Dave McClain Coach of the Year (media vote): Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern Named for Wisconsin’s Dave McClain

Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year: Kenny Willekes, Michigan State Named for Michigan State’s Bubba Smith and Penn State’s Courtney Brown

Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year: Devin Bush, Michigan Named for Illinois’ Dick Butkus and Northwestern’s Pat Fitzgerald

Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year: Amani Hooker, Iowa Named for Ohio State’s Jack Tatum and Purdue’s Rod Woodson

Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year: Chase McLaughlin, Illinois Named for Wisconsin’s Jim Bakken and Michigan State’s Morten Andersen

Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year: Will Hart, Michigan Named for Illinois’ Dike Eddleman and Michigan State’s Brandon Fields

Rodgers-Dwight Return Specialist of the Year: Ihmir Smith-Marsette, Iowa Named for Nebraska’s Johnny Rodgers and Iowa’s Tim Dwight