clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Complete Guide to Watching Former Husker Athletes at the Olympics

New, 4 comments
Two of the former Huskers Kayla Banwarth and Jordan Larson-Burbach who will be participating in the Olympicsl
Two of the former Huskers Kayla Banwarth and Jordan Larson-Burbach who will be participating in the Olympicsl
Ken Ishii/Getty Images

There are nine former Husker athletes from six countries who will be competing at 2016 Olympics. You might also spot two Husker coaches at the Olympics. Nebraska Rifle Coach Ashley MacAllister will be coaching the Puerto Rican rifle team. Nebraska Wrestling Coach Mark Manning will also be one of the USA freestyle wrestling coaches at the Olympics. Here's the ultimate guide to cheering on the Big Red from your couch.

BASKETBALL

Danielle Page (Serbia): Danielle Page played at Nebraska from 2004-2008 and currently stands 2nd on the Huskers career blocks list. She will become the second women's #Nebrasketball player to play in the Olympics. Page received her Serbian citizenship in 2015 before leading her new native country to a gold medal in EuroBasket 2015 so expect Serbia to go deep in the Olympic tournament.

When to Watch:

August 7th: Serbia vs. Spain @ 1:15pm ET/12:15pm CT

August 10th: USA vs. Serbia @ 2:30pm ET/1:30pm CT

August 12th: Serbia vs. China @ 11:15am ET/10:15am CT

August 14th: Senegal vs. Serbia @ 2:30pm ET/1:30pm CT


BEACH VOLLEYBALL

Sarah Pavan (Canada): Sarah Pavan played volleyball at Nebraska from 2004-2007 and made the switch to beach volleyball after playing for Canada in the 2010 FIVB World Volleyball Championship. Pavan also lead Nebraska to the 2006 National Championship. Her partner on the sand will be Heather Bansley and the pair are ranked #6 in the world going into the Olympics.

When to Watch:

August 7th: Pavan/Bansley vs. Netherlands @ 2:30pm ET/1:30pm CT

August 9th: Pavan/Bansley vs. Switzerland @ 11:00pm ET/10:00pm CT

August 11th: Pavan/Bansley vs. Germany @ 9:00pm ET/8:00pm CT


INDOOR VOLLEYBALL

Kayla Banwarth (USA): Kayla Banwarth played for Nebraska from and was a member of the 2006 Nebraska volleyball team who won the national title. She is the only libero on the USA roster and should get plenty of minutes on the court. Banworth has been on the USA volleyball roster squad since 2011.

Jordan Larson-Burbach (USA): This will be Larson's 2nd Olympics after being on the 2012 roster that took silver. She played for Nebraska from 2005-2008 and was also on Nebraska's 2006 National Championship team (talk about a stacked roster). Larson has been on the USA volleyball roster since 2009.

Kelsey Robinson (USA): Kelsey Robinson & Kayla Banwarth are part of eight women's volleyball players making their first appearance in the Olympics. After starting her college career at Tennessee, she transferred to Nebraska for her senior season. Robinson has been on the USA volleyball roster since 2014.

When to Watch: *All matches on NBC*

August 6th: USA vs. Puerto Rico @ 4:05pm ET/3:05pm CT

August 8th: USA vs. Netherlands @ 2:00pm ET/1:00pm CT

August 10th: USA vs. Serbia @ 2:00pm ET/1:00pm CT

August 12th: USA vs. Italy @ 2:00pm ET/1:00pm CT

August 14th: USA vs. China @ 4:05pm ET/3:05pm CT


SWIMMING

Therese Alshammar (Sweden): Alshammar will become the first female swimmer to compete in six Olympic games. After swimming for Nebraska from 1997-1999, she took two silver medals (50m freestyle and 100m freestyle) and one bronze medal (freestyle relay) at the 2000 Olympics. She has since competed in three more Olympics where she finished 4th in 2004 and 6th in 2012 at the 50m freestyle event. Along with her three Olympic medals, Alshammar has also won 25 World Championship medals and 43 European Championship medals.

When to Watch:

Women's 50m freestyle event is August 12th-13th.

Heats: August 12th @ 12:02pm ET/11:02pm CT

Semifinals: August 12th @ 9:59pm ET/8:59pm CT

Final: August 13th @ 9:03pm ET/8:03pm CT


TRACK & FIELD

Maruša Cernjul (Slovenia): Cernjul competed in high jump at Nebraska from 2012-2015 where she was 2012 Big Ten high jump champion in finished runner up in the 2015 conference high jump competition. This will be her first Olympics and one of 60 Slovenians competing at the Olympics.

Miles Ukaoma (Nigeria): The four-time All-American at Nebraska (2011-2014) capped off his college career by winning the 400m hurdles at the 2014 NCAA Championships. This will be his first Olympics and one of 75 Nigerians competing at the Olympics.

When to Watch:

Women's high jump event is August 18th & 20th.

Qualifications: August 18th @ 9:00am ET/8:00am CT

Final: August 20th @ 7:30pm ET/6:30pm CT

Men's 400m hurdles event is August 15th, 16th & 18th.

Heats: August 15th @ 10:30am ET/9:30am CT

Semifinals: August 16th @ 8:35pm ET/7:35pm CT

Final: August 18th @ 11:00am ET/10:00am CT


WRESTLING

Jordan Burroughs (USA): Jordan Burroughs will be looking to become the third American wrestler in history to win back-to-back golds at the Olympics. He has been competing on the international wrestling circuit since 2011 and compiled a 24-1 record in competitions. Burroughs will be competing in the 74kg (163 lb) weight class where he is a heavy favorite to grab the gold medal.

When to Watch:

Men's 74kg freestyle wrestling event is August 19th.

Round of 16: starting at 9:30am ET/8:30am CT

Quarterfinals: starting at 10:00am ET/9:00am CT

Semifinals: starting at 10:40am ET/9:40am CT

Medal Matches: starting at 4:00pm ET/3:00pm CT


Hopefully there will be a few more Huskers with gold medals around their neck by the end of the Olympics!

GO BIG RED!!!