clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nebraska Punter Sam Foltz On 2016 Ray Guy Award Watch List

Sam Foltz makes the initial 2016 Ray Guy Award Watch List!

Nebraska's Sam Foltz Makes A Tackle on Demornay Pierson-El in the spring game
Nebraska's Sam Foltz Makes A Tackle on Demornay Pierson-El in the spring game

It’s watch list season, right?

The nice thing is that we have players on the watch lists.

Like the Lou Groza Award, no Nebraska player has ever won the Ray Guy Award, although back in 2003, Kyle Larson made the final list of three.

Sam Foltz makes this year’s initial watch list. The only other Big Ten punter listed is Cameron Johnston from Ohio State. You’d think that the conference where "punting is winning" is celebrated more than any other would have better representation.

Foltz is a senior. He earned First-Team All-Big Ten honors last season from the media and the coaches and he was on the Ray Guy watch list last season. He had a 44.2 yard per punt average last season to lead the Big Ten as Nebraska was third in the conference in net punting.

Foltz, along with Drew Brown, is why Nebraska should have excellent special teams this season. Remember, they’re a third of the game!

2016 Ray Guy Award Pre-Season Watch List:

  • Will Gleeson (Jr.), Ole Miss
  • Hayden Hunt (RS Jr.), Colorado State
  • Cameron Johnston (Sr.), Ohio State
  • Dalton Parks (Sr.), Tulsa
  • Johnny Townsend (RS Jr.), Florida
  • Austin Rehkow (Sr.), Idaho
  • Joseph Davidson (RS Jr.), Bowling Green
  • Dalton Schomp (RS Sr.), FAU
  • JK Scott (Jr.), Alabama
  • Austin Seibert (Soph.), Oklahoma
  • Justin Vogel (Sr.), Miami
  • Trevor Daniel (RS Jr.), Tennessee
  • Toby Baker (Sr.), Arkansas
  • Sam Foltz (Sr.), Nebraska
  • Nick Walsh (Soph.), Kansas State
  • Alex Boy (Sr.), Nevada
  • Michael Carrizosa (Jr.), San Jose State
  • Matt Haack (Sr.), Arizona State