clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nebraska Football’s Cethan Carter & Dylan Utter Makes Mackey & Rimington Watch Lists

Two more Huskers are put on watch lists, including one held close to hearts in Lincoln.

Gallery: Practice! David McGee

Another day of watch lists being put out today, another pair of Nebraska Cornhuskers on the list.

Nebraska Tight End Cethan Carter was named to one of the ones to watch for the Mackey Award Wednesday, named for the best Tight End in College Football.

Carter, a Senior from New Orleans, Louisiana, has come into one of the better blocking TE’s in the nation, while finding a niche in the Mike Riley/Danny Langsdorf Offense late in the year last season.

Carter is one of 6 Big Ten Conference players on the watch list.

The Mackey Award, named after the famous Syracuse TE who went on to fame with the Baltimore Colts and the first president of the NFL Players Association, has been given out since 2000.

The full Mackey Award Watch List:

Jeb Blazevich, Georgia

Pharaoh Brown, Oregon

Barrett Burns, Appalachian State

Jake Butt, Michigan

Cethan Carter, Nebraska

Connor Cella, Rice

CJ Conrad, Kentucky

Buck Cowan, Idaho

Darrell Daniels, Washington

Elkanah Dillon, USF

DJ Dowdy, Cincinnati

Evan Engram, Ole Miss

Gerald Everett, South Alabama

Billy Freeman, San Jose State

Mike Gesicki, Penn State Jarred Gipson, Nevada

DeAndre Goolsby, Florida

Cole Hikutini, Louisville

Bucky Hodges, Virginia Tech

Wyatt Houston, Utah State

OJ Howard, Alabama

Ryan Izzo, Florida State

Blake Jarwin, Oklahoma State

Ben Johnson, Kansas

Alize Jones, Notre Dame

George Kittle, Iowa

Kody Kohl, Arizona State

Jordan Leggett, Clemson

Brandon Lingen, Minnesota

Troy Mangen, Ohio Hayden Plinke, UTEP

Josiah Price, Michigan State

Michael Roberts, Toledo

Jake Roh, Boise State

Keith Rucker, Georgia State

Mason Schreck, Buffalo

Dalton Schultz, Stanford

Cam Serigne, Wake Forest

Jonnu Smith, FIU

Jeremy Sprinkle, Arkansas

Todd Stafford, UMass

Colin Thompson, Temple

Cody Tuttle, Eastern Michigan

Ethan Wolf, Tennessee

Ryan Yurachek, Marshall

Nebraska Center Dylan Utter was also placed on a watch list today, making the Rimington Award list. Utter, the Senior from Papillion, played mostly Left Guard for the Huskers in his career. He does have one Center start, in the 2014 Holiday Bowl.

Including Utter, there are 8 Big Ten Conference players on the watch list.

Of course, the Rimington Award is named after former Nebraska Center Dave Rimington, who has been giving the award to the nation’s best Center. Rimington was awarded the Outland Trophy (best lineman in CFB) twice in 1981 and 1982.

Rimington will give his trophy out January 14th, 2017 at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln.

The Rimington Trophy Watch List:

Brian Allen, Michigan State

Jonathan Alvarez, Oklahoma

Jon Baker, Boston College

Jake Bennett, Colorado State

Deyshawn Bond, Cincinnati

Evan Brown, SMU

Freddie Burden, Georgia Tech

Nick Clarke, Old Dominion

Jamaal Clayborn, Mississippi State

Mason Cole, Michigan

Robert Conyers, Ole Miss

Lucas Crowley, North Carolina

Ryan Crozier, UConn

Atlantic Dillon DeBoer, Florida

Michael Deiter, Wisconsin

Alec Eberle, Florida State

Pat Elfein, Ohio State

Asotui Eli, Hawaii

Jason Emerich, Syracuse

Arthur Flores, San Diego State

Kyle Fuller, Baylor Nathan Goltry, Nevada

Jay Guillermo, Clemson

Max Halpin, Western Kentucky

Alan Knott, South Carolina

Will Kreitler, UNLV

Brandon Kublanow, Georgia

Andy Kwon, Georgia Southern

Drew Kyser, Memphis

Nicholas Linder, Miami

Toa Lobendahn, USC

Brad Lundblade, Oklahoma State

Steve Matlock, Idaho

Jackson Matteo, Virginia

Tim McAuliffe, Bowling Green

Brendan McGowan, Temple

Chandler Miller, Tulsa

Gabe Mobley, Georgia State

Devin Mondie, Arkansas State

Michael Montero, FIU

Brendan Moore, Maryland Tony Morales, Texas Tech

Will Noble, Houston

Alex Officer, Pittsburgh

James O'Hagan, Buffalo

Tyler Orlosky, West Virginia

Ethan Pocic, LSU

Frank Ragnow, Arkansas

Dalton Risner, Kansas State

Joe Scelfo, N.C. State

Austin Schlottmann, TCU

Coleman Shelton, Washington

Riley Sorenson, Washington State

Joe Spencer, Illinois

Austin Stephens, Utah State

Daniel Stephens, Middle Tennessee

Coleman Thomas, Tennessee

Cameron Tom, Southern Miss

Jon Toth, Kentucky

Dylan Utter, Nebraska

Sean Welsh, Iowa