clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nebraska’s Tommy Armstrong & Terrell Newby Each Make A Watch List Thursday

Two more watch lists have Huskers on them.

NCAA Football: Wisconsin at Nebraska Steven Branscombe-USA TODAY Sports

Two Nebraska Cornhusker Offensive starters were featured on your daily watch list release on Thursday morning.

Nebraska Senior QB Tommy Armstrong was one of 30 Quarterbacks put on the Davey O’Brien Award watch list. This list includes five Big Ten Quarterbacks, as well as last year’s award winner in Deshawn Watson of Clemson.

The award is given by the Davey O’Brien Foundation out of Fort Worth, Texas. The award is named for the former TCU and Philadelphia Eagles Quarterback.

The full Davey O’Brien watch list:

Tommy Armstrong Jr. (Nebraska, Sr., Cibolo, Texas)

J.T. Barrett (Ohio State, Jr., Wichita Falls, Texas)

C.J. Beathard (Iowa, Sr., Franklin, Tenn.)

Jake Browning (Washington, So., Granite Bay, Calif.)

Joshua Dobbs (Tennessee, Sr., Alpharetta, Ga.)

Dane Evans (Tulsa, Sr., Sanger, Texas)

Luke Falk (Washington State, Jr., Logan, Utah)

Quinton Flowers (USF, Jr., Miami, Fla.)

Skyler Howard (West Virginia, Sr., Fort Worth, Texas)

Brad Kaaya (Miami, Jr., Los Angeles, Calif.)

Chad Kelly (Ole Miss, Sr., Buffalo, N.Y.)

DeShone Kizer (Notre Dame, Jr., Toledo, Ohio)

Taylor Lamb (Appalachian State, Jr., Calhoun, Ga.)

Mitch Leidner (Minnesota, Sr., Lakeville, Minn.)

Wes Lunt (Illinois, Sr., Rochester, Ill.)

Patrick Mahomes II (Texas Tech, Jr., Whitehouse, Texas)

Tanner Mangum (BYU, So., Eagle, Idaho)

Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma, Jr., Austin, Texas)

Nick Mullens (Southern Miss, Sr., Hoover, Ala.)

Josh Rosen (UCLA, So., Manhattan Beach, Calif.)

Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State, Jr., Rock Hill, S.C.)

Cooper Rush (Central Michigan, Sr., Charlotte, Mich.)

Seth Russell (Baylor, Sr., Garland, Texas)

Brett Rypien (Boise State, So., Spokane, Wash.)

Anu Solomon (Arizona, Jr., Las Vegas, Nev.)

Brent Stockstill (Middle Tennessee, So., Murfreesboro, Tenn.)

Zach Terrell (Western Michigan, Sr., Fort Wayne, Ind.)

Phillip Walker (Temple, Sr., Elizabeth, N.J.)

Greg Ward Jr. (Houston, Sr., Tyler, Texas)

Deshaun Watson (Clemson, Jr., Gainesville, Ga.)

In other watch list news, Senior Running Back Terrell Newby was placed on the Doak Walker Award list. This award is given annually to the nation’s best Running Back by the SMU Athletic Forum out of Dallas.

Newby, a Senior out of Los Angeles, rushed for a team leading 765 yards and six touchdowns last season. He is anticipated to share time with Mikale Wilbon and Devine Ozigbo, but look for Newby to start the season at the RB1 spot.

Ironically, no Nebraska RB has ever won the Doak Walker, with only three Husker players ever being mentioned as a finalist. Ameer Abdullah was a finalist in 2014, Ahman Green back in 1997, and Calvin Jones was a finalist as well back in 1993.

Both the Doak Walker and Davey O’Brien Awards will be announced on December 8th.