clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Husker Safety Nate Gerry On the Thorpe Award Watch List

Another day, another watch list. Nebraska defensive back Nate Gerry made the cut for the Jim Thorpe award.

Bruce Thorson-USA TODAY Sports

Four Big Ten defensive backs, including 2015 Thorpe Award winner Desmond King of Iowa, were named to the 2016 Jim Thorpe Award preseason watch list.No Husker player has won the Thorpe Award. Prince Amukamara came the closest, being named a finalist in 2010.

The award was established in 1986 and is named after one of history’s greatest all-around athletes, Jim Thorpe. Thorpe excelled not only as a running back, passer, and kicker on the offensive side of the ball; but also stood out as a defensive back. In addition to his legendary performance on the football field, Thorpe played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon. He later had to give back the gold medals after it was determined he violated amateur status by accepting money to play minor league baseball.

The 2016 Jim Thorpe Award watch list:

Jamal Adams, LSU, Jr.

Tony Annese, Central Michigan, Sr.

Chidobe Awuzie, Colorado, Sr.

Budda Baker, Washington, Jr.

Bobby Baker, Georgia State, Sr.

Quin Blanding, Virginia, Jr.

Cody Brown, Arkansas State, Sr.

Sean Chandler, Temple, Jr.

Jeremy Cutrer, Middle Tennessee, Sr.

Zach Edwards, Cincinnati, Sr.

Nate Gerry, Nebraska, Sr.

Adoree' Jackson, USC, Jr.

Eddie Jackson, Alabama, Sr.

Derwin James, Florida St., So.

Sidney Jones, Washington, Jr.

Damontae Kazee, San Diego State, Sr.

Desmond King, Iowa, Sr.

Roland Ladipo, Air Force, Sr.

Jourdan Lewis, Michigan , Sr.

William Likely, Maryland, Sr.

Shawun Lurry, Northern Illinois, Jr.

Marcus Maye, Florida, Sr.

Demetrius Monday, Kent State, Jr.

Deatrick Nichols, USF, Jr.

Jeremy Reaves, South Alabama, Jr.

DeJuan Rogers, Toledo, Sr.

Boise Ross, Buffalo, Sr.

Weston Steelhammer, Air Force, Sr.

Jordan Sterns, Oklahoma State, Sr.

Jamar Summers, Uconn, Jr.

Cameron Sutton, Tennessee, Sr.

Cordrea Tankersley, Clemson, Sr.

Ahmad Thomas, Oklahoma, Sr.

Jaleel Wadood, UCLA, Jr.

Tre'Davious White, LSU, Sr.

Jordan Whitehead, Pittsburgh, So.

Marcus Williams, Utah, Jr.

Andrew Wingard, Wyoming, So.

Xavier Woods, Louisiana Tech, Sr.

The Pac12 led all conferences with six nominees followed by the SEC and MAC with five each.

Nate Gerry was a team captain and Nebraska's leading tackler in 2015 as a junior (79 tackles; 49 solo). He has 9 career interceptions and sits just outside Nebraska's career Top 10 in that category. He was also selected for All Big Ten honors both his sophomore and junior seasons.