clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nebraska Football's Eric Crouch & Zach Wiegert Nominated For The College Football Hall of Fame

Two Huskers make the ballot for the 2017 class.

Oklahoma v Nebraska X

The Football Writers Association of America today released their nominees for the 2016 class of the College Football Hall of Fame today. The Nebraska Cornhuskers are represented by both former Offensive Tackle Zach Wiegert and Heisman Trophy winning Quarterback Eric Crouch on the list.

Wiegert, who played for the Huskers from 1991-1994, was an Outland Trophy winner as well as a finalist for the Lombardi Award for Head Coach Tom Osborne. The product of Fremont Bergan High School started 37 of the 46 games he appeared in through his three years that he played, giving up just one sack in those three years. His Junior season, Wiegert earned second team All-American status in 1993, when the Huskers were undefeated in the regular season, losing to Florida State in the Orange Bowl that January for the National Title. His number 72 was retired by the Huskers before the 1995 season. Wiegert played 145 games with 137 starts during an 11 year National Football League career, joining 3 different teams through that time.

Crouch, the 2001 Heisman Trophy winner, totaled up many accolades with Nebraska, especially in his Senior season. With the Heisman, Crouch won the Davey O'Brien, Walter Camp and Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year awards in that '01 season as well. The graduate of Millard North HS in Omaha, Crouch ended his career with many of Nebraska's records on his watch. This included the NCAA record for rushing TD's by a Quarterback (59), the record for Total Offense by a Husker (7,915 yards), most TD passes in a game (5), most TD rushes by a QB in a game (4), and most rushing TD's in a season by a QB (20). Crouch also has the longest run in Nebraska history with his zig-zagging 95 yard TD run at Missouri in 2001.

FWAA members have three weeks to vote for their choices from the FBS, FCS and coaching ranks for the College Football HoF. The announcement for those being honored will be made right before the College Football Playoff National Championship game in January in Tampa, Florida.