clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Nebraska Football Announces 2016 Team Awards

New, 1 comment

The Huskers handed out their team awards this weekend.

Gallery: Huskers Cap Home Schedule with Win Over Maryland David McGee

On Sunday afternoon, the Nebraska Football twitter announced the winners of the 2016 team awards.

First off, Senior Offensive Lineman Sam Hahn took home the walk-on of the year. Hahn, who hails from DeWitt, Nebraska, stepped up and started at Left Guard a majority of the season with the injury to Jerald Foster. Hahn started 9 games of the season in place of Foster, who was thought to be lost for the entire season.

Most improved player went to Sophomore Defensive Tackle Carlos Davis. Davis, a redshirt Freshman from Blue Springs, Missouri, shined as the season went on. He had a season-high 6 tackles, 4 of those solo against Iowa in the regular season finale.

True Freshman RB Tre’ Bryant was voted the newcomer of the year. Bryant, from St. Louis, had his two best games of the season in the final 2 games of the year vs. Maryland and Iowa.

Lifter of the year went to Fullback Luke McNitt. The Junior from Kearney won the award for his “for his dedication, work ethic and commitment in the weight room.

Junior WR/PR De’Mornay Pierson-El won the Pat Claire award, which is the award given by the Nebraska medical staff to a player who has shown courage & commitment to overcome an injury. Pierson-El, a Junior from Alexandria, Virginia, returned to the field after a potentially career ending injuries at Purdue last season. DPE missed the first four games of the ‘15 season to a foot injury as well.

Senior Quarterback Tommy Armstrong Jr. won the Tom Novak Trophy. The award is given to a Senior & is voted on by media that covers the Huskers. The San Antonio native holds the Nebraska records for passing yards, total offense, passing touchdowns and total touchdowns.

Senior Linebacker Josh Banderas wins the Cletus Fisher Native Son award. Banderas, from Lincoln, received the award named after the former Nebraska OL coach. Banderas followed his father, Tom, to play at Nebraska.

The Fisher Native Son award was also given to the late Sam Foltz, who was from Grand Island. Foltz, who passed before fall camp in a tragic car accident in Wisconsin, was a three-time letter winner and the 2015 Big Ten Punter of the Year.

Senior Receiver Jordan Westerkamp won the Guy Chamberlain Trophy, given to the Senior that has the qualities and dedication of the great Cornhusker tradition, which is voted on by the media. Westerkamp, who will miss the Music City Bowl vs. Tennessee due to injury, will finish his career second in receptions and fourth in receiving yards at Nebraska.

The Lunch Bucket award goes to Senior Linebacker Brad Simpson. Simpson, from Omaha, won the award given to the player that best shows a blue-collar attitude and gives maximum effort at all times.

Senior Tight End Sam Cotton wins the Husker Pride award. Cotton, from Lincoln, won the award that “goes to a player who the coaching staff recognizes as being someone who has represented Nebraska football for all the right reasons, and has represented Nebraska both on and off the field in a first-class manner”.

The offensive scout team MVP’s were Freshman WR J.D. Spielman and Quarterback Tanner Lee, who transferred to Lincoln this season.

The defensive scout team MVP’s were Freshmen LB Pernell Jefferson, and Defensive End Collin Miller.

The scout team MVP was redshirt Freshman WR Conor Young.