clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nebraska Linebacker Coach Trent Bray Nominated For 2016 Broyles Award

The second-year coach is on the short list for best assistant coach in FBS.

Gallery: Armstrong Sets Record, Huskers Move to 2-0

The Broyles Award released their list of finalists for their award for the best assistant coach in the Football Bowl Subdivision today.

That list included Nebraska Linebacker coach Trent Bray, who is in his second season at Nebraska. Bray, who is in his 7th season of being a LB coach, came to Nebraska after three seasons with Mike Riley at Oregon State, where he played from 2002-2005. Bray started his assistant career at Arizona State.

Bray has helped transform arguably the weakest point of the team into one of the most solid groups on the team. He’s helped Josh Banderas, who was rumored to be leaving the team when Bray arrived, into the team leader in tackles this season with 80. Bray also helped Dedrick Young become a All-B1G Freshman standout last season, while dealing with a fair amount of injury issues.

Out of these 40 names, the Broyles Award selection committee will name five finalists. The Broyles Award will then be presented December 6th in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Broyles Award Nominees:

Alabama – Jeremy Pruitt, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Arkansas State – Joe Cauthen, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Army West Point – Jay Bateman, Defensive Coordinator

Auburn – Kevin Steele, Defensive Coordinator

Boise State – Scott Huff, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Offensive

Washington State – Alex Grinch, Defensive Coordinator/Secondary

Brigham Young – Ed Lamb, Special Team Coordinator/Safeties

Clemson – Brent Venables, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Colorado – Jim Leavitt, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Colorado State – Will Friend, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line

Georgia Southern – Chad Lunsford, Special Teams Coordinator/Tight Ends

Houston – Todd Orlando – Defensive Coordinator

Indiana – Tom Allen, Defensive Coordinator

Iowa State – Tom Manning, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line

Louisiana Tech – Todd Fitch, Offensive Coordinator/Wide Receivers

LSU – Dave Aranda, Defensive Coordinator

Miami – Manny Diaz, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Michigan – Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Missouri – Glen Elarbee, Offensive Line

Navy – Ivin Jasper, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Nebraska – Trent Bray, Linebackers

North Carolina – Larry Porter, Special Teams Coordinator/Running Backs

North Carolina State – Ryan Nielsen, Defensive Line

Oklahoma State – Mike Yurcich, Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Old Dominion – Brian Scott, Offensive Coordinator

Ole Miss – Matt Luke, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line

Ohio State – Kerry Coombs, Special Teams Coordinator/Cornerbacks

Penn State – Joe Moorhead, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Pittsburgh – Matt Canada, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

South Carolina – Travaris Robinson, Defensive Coordinator/Defensive Backs

Stanford – Mike Bloomgren, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line

Temple – Phil Snow, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties

Troy – Matt Moore, Co-Offensive Coordinator

UCF – Erik Chinander, Defensive Coordinator

USC – Clancy Pendergast, Defensive Coordinator

Wake Forest – Mike Elko, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties

Western Kentucky – Tony Levine, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Special Teams Coordinator

Western Michigan – Kirk Ciarrocca, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

West Virginia – Tony Gibson, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Wisconsin – Justin Wilcox, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers