clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tommy Armstrong on Manning Award Watch List

Bruce Thorson-USA TODAY Sports

Nebraska quarterback Tommy Armstrong Jr was named to the Manning Award Watch List today. The list includes the top 30 quarterbacks in the nation, and, yes, Armstrong was one of them.

Doesn't seem like Husker fans are too sold on Armstrong, but he does have a 16-5 record as a starter, and he did set sophomore records for passing yards (2,695), passing touchdowns (22) and total offense (3,400) last season.

The award has been given out since 2004, and is (obviously) named after Eli, Peyton and Archie Manning. The Mannings vote for the winner, as does a voting panel of select media members. The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Connor Cook of Michigan State and Christian Hackenberg of Penn State were the only other Big Ten quarterbacks on the list, which makes you wonder how the heck none of the greatest trio of quarterbacks to ever play football were selected (referring of course, to Ohio State's Braxton Miller, J.T. Barrett, and Cardale Jones).

BYU's Taysom Hill made the list.

Oregon's Marcus Mariota won the award last season, and Florida State's Jameis Winston the year before that.