clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Terran Petteway Named To Julius Erving Award Watch List

The Nebrasketball Captain is one of 15 to be nominated for the award.

Rich Barnes-USA TODAY Sports

Nebraska Cornhuskers Junior Forward Terran Petteway was named on Wednesday as one of 15 names to watch for the 2015 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award, which was announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Petteway, the Huskers Captain from Galveston, Texas, has been one of the more prolific players in the Big Ten Conference the past two seasons. He ranks 3rd in the Conference at 18.7 points per game, and leads the team in assists (2.8 per game),  while being second in rebounds (5.0 per game).

Petteway joins Branden Dawson (MSU), Denzel Valentine (MSU) and Sam Dekker (Wisconsin) on the list from the conference.

The award is named after Julius Erving, who became a Hall of Famer in the NBA with 11 All-Star Game nominations as a member of the Philadelphia Sixers.

Petteway and the Huskers return to action tomorrow evening with a road game versus the Maryland Terrapins.

The full list of nominees:

2015 Julius Erving Award Candidates

Stanley Johnson, University of Arizona

Roosevelt Jones, Butler University

Justise Winslow, Duke University

Branden Dawson, Michigan State University

Denzel Valentine, Michigan State University

Terran Petteway, University of Nebraska

Pat Connaughton, University of Notre Dame

Le’Bryan Nash, Oklahoma State University

LaDontae Henton, Providence College

Anthony Brown, Stanford University

Jonathan Holmes, University of Texas

Vince Hunter, University of Texas, El Paso

Treveon Graham, Virginia Commonwealth University

Justin Anderson, University of Virginia

Sam Dekker, University of Wisconsin