clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

ESPN: Former Husker LB Trev Alberts To Be Inducted into College Football Hall of Fame

New, 26 comments
Al Bello/Getty Images

ESPN's Brett McMurphy reports that former Nebraska linebacker Trev Alberts will be announced as a 2015 inductee into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Alberts would join Bob Brown, Bobby Reynolds, Dave Rimington, Ed Weir, Forrest Behm, George Sauer, Grant Wistrom, Guy Chamberlain, Johnny Rodgers, Mike Rozier, Rich Glover, Sam Francis, Tommie Frazier, Wayne Meyland, and Will Shields as former Nebraska players enshrined in the Hall of Fame.  Former coaches Bob Devaney, Biff Jones, and Tom Osborne are also inductees for their coaching records.

Alberts was a two year starter at outside linebacker for the Huskers from 1990 through 1993. As a freshman, he was the Big Eight defensive newcomer of the year with 26 tackles and four sacks. As a junior, he earned First Team All-Big Eight honors and second team all-American honors with 73 tackles, eleven for losses. As a senior team captain, he was a consensus first-team all-American and won the Butkus Award for best college linebacker. He had 96 tackles (21 for loss) and 38 quarterback hurries. He left the Oklahoma game with a dislocated elbow injury, yet still played in the Orange Bowl for the National Championship against Florida State. Despite being limited by a brace on his injured arm, he was named the Defensive MVP, sacking Heisman Trophy winner Charlie Ward three times (and hurrying him three other times). For comparison purposes, Florida State's quarterbacks were only sacked five times during the regular season.

Alberts spent three injury-filled years in the NFL before finally retiring. He went into broadcasting, first with CNN, then with ESPN. His ESPN career ended abruptly in 2005 when he refused to work after the network selected the GameDay crew of Chris Fowler, Kirk Herbstreit, and Lee Corso to host the late night wrap-up show. Alberts worked briefly for CBS before becoming the athletic director at Nebraska-Omaha in 2009. Alberts found himself in a controversy in Omaha in 2011 when he was asked by the Chancellor and area business leaders to reorganize the athletic department. UNO moved to division 1, but dropped the Mavericks' football and wrestling programs. The move to division 1 has energized UNO athletics, as the basketball program has pulled off several upsets of bigger name programs, most recently Marquette.

UNO's hockey team also is experiencing great success on the ice, as the Mavericks are ranked 13th nationally in the USCHO rankings and sixth in the PairWise rankings used to seed the NCAA hockey tournament.

Alberts was a standout in the classroom during his time in Lincoln. He was named to the academic all-Big Eight team three times and was an academic all-American. He graduated prior to his senior season, and was named to the NCAA's "Top Six" award in 1993 as one of the six most outstanding senior student athletes in any sport.

The official announcement of the 15 members of the 2015 inductee class for the College Football Hall of Fame will be made on Friday, Jan. 9, at 10 am in Dallas