clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ameer Abdullah & Randy Gregory Named First Team USA Today Preseason All-Americans

The national paper came out with their AA teams, and 2 Husker Footballers are on the number 1 set.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Jesse Johnson-USA TODAY Sports

In their preseason All American team published today, USA Today has listed two Nebraska Cornhuskers on their first team.

Nebraska RB Ameer Abdullah and DT Randy Gregory were named on the first team of 25 total players.

Abdullah, a SR Running Back from Homewood, Alabama, had 1,690 yards rushing on a 6 yards per carry average last year. With his Receiving and Return stats last year, he amassed for over 2000 all-purpose yards in his Junior campaign.

Gregory, a JR Defensive End from Fishers, Indiana, had 66 total tackles last year, with 19 for loss. He led the Big Ten with 10.5 sacks last season.  Gregory has been projected as a potential top five NFL Draft prospect if he wishes to turn pro after this season.

USA Today Preseason All-American Teams:



QB – Marcus Mariota, Oregon (junior)

RB – Todd Gurley, Georgia (junior)

RB – Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska (senior)

TE – Nick O'Leary, Florida State (senior)

WR – Antwan Goodley, Baylor (senior)

WR – Nelson Agholor, USC (junior)

OL – Andrus Peat, Stanford (junior)

OL – A.J. Cann, South Carolina (senior)

OL – Hroniss Grasu, Oregon (senior)

OL – Tre' Jackson, Florida State (senior)

OL – Brandon Scherff, Iowa (senior)


DL – Vic Beasley, Clemson (senior)

DL – Shilique Calhoun, Michigan State (junior)

DL – Leonard Williams, USC (junior)

DL – Randy Gregory, Nebraska (junior)

LB – Eric Striker, Oklahoma (junior)

LB – Ramik Wilson, Georgia (senior)

LB – Trey DePriest, Alabama (senior)

DB – Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon (senior)

DB – Su'a Cravens, USC (sophomore)

DB – Landon Collins, Alabama (junior)

DB – Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech (sophomore)


K – Roberto Aguayo, Florida State (sophomore)

P – Mike Sadler, Michigan State (senior)

RET – Ryan Switzer, North Carolina (sophomore)



QB – Jameis Winston, Florida State (sophomore)

RB – Mike Davis, South Carolina (junior)

RB – Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin (junior)

TE – O.J. Howard, Alabama (sophomore)

WR – Tyler Lockett, Kansas State (senior)

WR – Rashad Greene, Florida State (senior)

OL – Cedric Ogbuehi, Texas A&M (senior)

OL – Le'Raven Clark, Texas Tech (junior)

OL – Reese Dismukes, Auburn (senior)

OL – Laremy Tunsil, Mississippi (sophomore

OL – Cam Erving, Florida State (senior)


DL – Joey Bosa, Ohio State (sophomore)

DL – Danny Shelton, Washington (senior)

DL – Robert Nkemdiche, Mississippi (sophomore)

DL – Michael Bennett, Ohio State (senior)

LB – A.J. Tarpley, Stanford (senior)

LB – Denzel Perryman, Miami (Fla.) (senior)

LB – Myles Jack, UCLA (sophomore)

DB – Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida (sophomore)

DB – Jalen Ramsey, Florida State (sophomore)

DB – Cody Prewitt, Mississippi (senior)

DB – Trae Waynes, Michigan State (junior)


K – Marshall Morgan, Georgia (junior)

P – Drew Kaser, Texas A&M (junior)

RET – Ty Montgomery, Stanford (senior)