clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ameer Abdullah Named One Of Three Finalists For The Doak Walker Award

The SR Running Back was named in the final 3 Tuesday afternoon.

David McGee

Nebraska Cornhuskers Running Back Ameer Abdullah was named one of the three finalists for the Doak Walker Award, which is presented to the nation's premiere Running Back. The award is presented by PwC SMU Athletic Forum out of Dallas, Texas.

Abdullah, the Homewood, Alabama native, was named with Tevin Coleman of Indiana and Melvin Gordon of Wisconsin. All three finalists are in the Big Ten Conference, marking the first time in the 25 year history of the award that all three finalists come from the same Conference.

Abdullah is the third Nebraska Running Back to be named a finalist for the award, joining Calvin Jones in 1993, and Ahman Green in 1997.

Abdullah has rushed for over 200 yards in three games this year. That has helped his total to 1,417 yards on a 6.33 yards per carry average with 18 TD's. He is Nebraska's all time All-Purpose Yardage leader.

The Doak Walker award will be announced during the Hope Depot College Football Awards on December 11th from Orlando, Florida on ESPN.