clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nebraska's Ameer Abdullah Named Finalist for 2014 CLASS Award and Wuerffel Trophy

Bruce Thorson-USA TODAY Sports

Nebraska senior I-back Ameer Abdullah was named today as one of ten finalists for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award and one of twelve finalists for the Wuerffel Trophy.  Both awards honor players for their achievements off the field. Besides Abdullah, only three other players appear on both lists of finalists: Georgia's Chris Conley, Arizona State's Taylor Kelly, and Ole Miss' Deterrian Shackleford.

The Senior CLASS Award honors players achievements in four areas of excellence - community, classroom, character and competition. CLASS stands for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School.

The complete list of 2014 Senior CLASS Award Finalists:

Name Position School
Ameer Abdullah I-back Nebraska
Sam Carter Safety TCU
Chris Conley Flanker Georgia
Cody Fajardo Quarterback Nevada
Devin Gardner Quarterback Michigan
Taylor Kelly Quarterback Arizona State
Eric Kendricks Linebacker UCLA
Tyler Lockett Wide Receiver Kansas State
Deterrian Shackelford Linebacker Ole Miss
JaCorey Shepherd Cornerback/nickelback/kick returner Kansas

Along with media and coaches votes, a nationwide fan vote will take place through December 15, 2014. The winner will be announced in early January during the bowl season.  (OK, Husker fans... you know what to do now.)

The Wuerffel Trophy is presented by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach, FL and is named after Danny Wuerffel, the former Florida quarterback who won the 1996 Heisman Trophy a year after his Gators were pummeled into submission by the 1995 Nebraska Cornhuskers.  The award recognizes players for "exemplary community service."

The finalists for the 2014 Wuerffel Trophy include:

Taylor Kelly
Bryce Haynes
Sam Rodgers
Chris Conley
Brennen Beyer
Deterrian Shackelford
Ameer Abduullah
Trevor Knight
Dylan Thompson
Corey Acosta
Greg Mancz
Andrew East

A committee will select the winner, which will be announced on December 9, 2014.