clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nebraska Football: Nine Huskers Make Phil Steele's 2013 Preseason All-Big Ten Teams

Nine Huskers Make Phil Steele's 2013 Preseason All-Big Ten Teams. Nebraska places six on offense, including Taylor Martinez, Ameer Abdullah, Kenny Bell, Spencer Long, Quincy Enunwa, and Jeremiah Sirles. The defense earns only three, with Ciante Evans, Jason Ankrah and Andrew Green getting selected.

Mike Ehrmann

June might also be known as "Phil Steele month" for the hard core college football fan as we await his preseason magazine release every year. The magazine is so chock full of information that it is considered the most comprehensive preseason college football magazine on the market.

Today Steele released his 2013 Preseason All-Big Ten Teams.

Steele is darned good at marketing, knowing that if he lists four teams worth of players he can not only represent everyone in the league (including Illinois), but claim that he named an "out of nowhere" player to his pre-season All Conference list even if they were on the fourth team. That's the cynical point of view. The positive point of view says that he names four teams because he's letting us know what he thinks about player potential.

Nebraska places nine players on the four-team selections (Ameer Abdullah is listed twice), six on offense, three on defense. On offense, Ohio State's Braxton Miller takes the top spot over our beloved Taylor Martinez. Ameer Abdullah gets recognition as the best back in the conference as does Kenny Bell as one of three wide receiver selections.

Guard Spencer Long (we'll mention he was a walk-on because it's June and you're not thinking clearly) earns a first team selection while tackle Jeremiah Sirles earns second team.

Quincy Enunwa earns a spot as a fourth team selection, which could be taken to mean Steele sees the potential in both Nebraska's passing game and for Enunwa to be a big part of it. (NO JAMAL TURNER, WHAT?)

On defense, Ciante Evans gets a nod as a second-team cornerback and then you see acknowledgement that Nebraska's defense is a hollow shell of what it should be as Jason Anrkah is regulated to third team while Andrew Green gets selected as a fourth-team cornerback.

On special teams, Ameer Abdullah earns a spot as a returner. Brett Maher moved on in the kicking and punting departments, and only time will tell how well the Huskers will do here in the coming season.

Here are the 2013 Phil Steele Preseason All-Big Ten Teams in their entirety. You can buy Steele's must have preview magazine June 18th at Barnes & Noble, Books-A-Million, CVS, Publix, Target, Walgreens, and Walmart exclusively.


1st TEAM

2nd TEAM

3rd TEAM

4th TEAM


Braxton Miller, Ohio St

Taylor Martinez, Nebraska

Devin Gardner, Michigan

Kain Colter, Northwestern


Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska

Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin

James White, Wisconsin

Mark Weisman, Iowa


Venric Mark, Northwestern

Carlos Hyde, Ohio St

Zach Zwinak, Penn St

Derrick Green, Michigan


Allen Robinson, Penn St

Jeremy Gallon, Michigan

Kofi Hughes, Indiana

Quincy Enunwa, Nebraska


Jared Abbrederis, Wisconsin

Devin Smith, Ohio St

Aaron Burbridge, Michigan St

Shane Wynn, Indiana


Kenny Bell, Nebraska

Cody Latimer, Indiana

Corey Brown, Ohio St

(TE) Ted Bolser, Indiana


Jacob Pedersen, Wisconsin

CJ Fiedorowicz, Iowa

Kyle Carter, Penn St

Devin Funchess, Michigan


Brandon Vitabile, Northwestern

Corey Linsley, Ohio St

Travis Jackson, Michigan St

Austin Blythe, Iowa


Spencer Long, Nebraska

John Urschel, Penn St

Marcus Hall, Ohio St

Dan Feeney, Indiana


Andrew Norwell, Ohio St

Kyle Costigan, Wisconsin

Jack Allen, Michigan St

Zac Epping, Minnesota


Taylor Lewan, Michigan

Jeremiah Sirles, Nebraska

Ryan Groy, Wisconsin

Fou Fonoti, Michigan St


Jack Mewhort, Ohio St

Rob Havenstein, Wisconsin

Brandon Scherff, Iowa

Michael Schofield, Michigan


1st TEAM

2nd TEAM

3rd TEAM

4th TEAM


Marcus Rush, Michigan St

Adolphus Washington, OSU

Frank Clark, Michigan

Ethan Hemer, Wisconsin


Bruce Gaston, Purdue

Beau Allen, Wisconsin

DaQuan Jones, Penn St

Lawrence Thomas, Mich St


Ra'Shede Hageman, Minnesota

Carl Davis, Iowa

Quinton Washington, Michigan

Austin Johnson, Penn St


Tyler Scott, Northwestern

Deion Barnes, Penn St

Jason Ankrah, Nebraska

Noah Spence, Ohio St


Ryan Shazier, Ohio St

Glenn Carson, Penn St

Chi Chi Ariguzo, Northwestern

Christian Kirksey, Iowa


Max Bullough, Michigan St

James Morris, Iowa

Mike Hull, Penn St

Ethan Armstrong, Wisconsin


Chris Borland, Wisconsin

Denicos Allen, Michigan St

Desmond Morgan, Michigan

Mason Monheim, Illinois


Jonathan Brown, Illinois

Curtis Grant, Ohio St

Anthony Hitchens, Iowa

Damien Proby, Northwestern


Bradley Roby, Ohio St

Ciante Evans, Nebraska

Nick VanHoose, Northwestern

Andrew Green, Nebraska


Darqueze Dennard, Michigan St

Ricardo Allen, Purdue

Adrian Amos, Penn St

Derrick Wells, Minnesota


Isaiah Lewis, Michigan St

CJ Barnett, Ohio St

Greg Heban, Indiana

Malcolm Willis, Penn St


Christian Bryant, Ohio St

Ibraheim Campbell, NW

Dezmen Southward, Wisc

Thomas Gordon, Michigan


1st TEAM

2nd TEAM

3rd TEAM

4th TEAM


Jeff Budzien, Northwestern

Brendan Gibbons, Michigan

Mike Meyer, Iowa

Drew Basil, Ohio St


Mike Sadler, Michigan St

Justin DuVernois, Illinois

Drew Meyer, Wisconsin

Cody Webster, Purdue


Jordan Cotton, Iowa

Dennis Norfleet, Michigan

Tevin Coleman, Indiana

Akeem Hunt, Purdue


Venric Mark, Northwestern

Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska

Corey Brown (WR), Ohio St

Jesse Della Valle, Penn St