clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

11/5 Roundup: Big Ten Women's Soccer Tournament begins Wednesday

Emma Stevens became the first Husker goalkeeper to score a goal!
Emma Stevens became the first Husker goalkeeper to score a goal!
Jon Johnston

Weekend Recap

Nebraska clinched the Big Ten regular season title on Friday with a 3-1 win over Indiana.  Mayme Conroy opened the scoring in the 34th minute with a controlled finish in the bottom corner.  Jaycie Johnson made it 2-1 in the 67th minute with a one touch flick into the net off a cross and Emma Stevens got a wind-aided on Senior Day in the 85th minute. Here is a clip of the Emma Stevens goal for those who haven't seen it yet.

The team finished the regular season 15-3-1 with a 10-1 conference record.  Check out my match report and post-match reaction for the Indiana match.  Here are the match highlights along with a photo album from the match as well.

Nebraska moved up one spot to #7 in the NCAA RPI Rankings and remained unchanged at #18 in the NSCAA Coaches Poll.

The Huskers also received three postseason awards today for their amazing run this season.  Jordan Jackson received the Big Ten award for midfielder for the year while Ari Romero was named defender of the year by the conference and to wrap it up John Walker was named Big Ten Coach of the Year.

Forward Jaycie Johnson and goalkeeper Emma Stevens were named on Second All-Big Ten Team while midfielder Sydney Miramontez along with Jaycie Johnson were named on the All-Freshman team for the Big Ten conference.

Looking Ahead

The Huskers have the #1 seed going into the Big Ten Women’s Soccer Tournament in Champaign, Illinois this week. The Huskers first matchup in the tournament is tomorrow at 4:30 p.m. when they take on #8 seed Minnesota.   Jordan Jackson scored the lone goal when these two teams meet on October 20th in the Twin Cities.  Eden Prairie native Katie Thyken is one of the main threats for the Gophers as she racked up seven goals during the regular season.

Friday's semifinal matches and Sunday's championship match will be televised live on the Big Ten Network. Check out the full tournament bracket below.