clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nebraska Soccer Roundup: NCAA Tournament Preview

Big Ten Tournament Champions

The Huskers earned its second trophy in as many weeks beating Iowa 1-0 in the Big Ten Championship Match.  Jaycie Johnson's penalty kick was the lone goal in that match.  On their way to the final, Nebraska also had 4-1 and 3-1 wins over Minnesota and Indiana respectively.  Ari Romero, Jaycie Johnson and Jordan Jackson were named on the All-Tournament team.  Romero was also recognized as the Defensive Player of the Tournament while Johnson was awarded Offensive Player of the Tournament.

Click here for all the highlights of Nebraska's Big Ten Tournament matches including a clip of the players drenching Coach John Walker with Gatorade.  The Huskers are ranked 10th in the latest NSCAA Poll which is their highest ranking in the poll since 2002.

Of course Twitter was buzzing after Nebraska's win over Iowa on Sunday.

NCAA Tournament Preview

In case you missed it, Nebraska was drawn a #2 seed in the NCAA Women's Soccer Tournament and will play their first round match here in Lincoln tomorrow at 2:00 p.m. against Southeastern Louisiana.  SELA is located in Hammond, Louisiana and qualified for this tournament by winning the Southland conference tournament.

The Lions are led by senior Kelsey Salcido who has racked up eight goals and nine assists on the season.  Other players to watch out for are freshman Brianna Singh who has nine goals and two assists on the season and sophomore Casey Peacock who leads the team with 31 shots on goal to go along with her seven goals and six assists on the season.

For a full women's tournament bracket with all the kickoff times click here.  Top Draw Soccer also has an excellent tournament preview with a few things to say about Nebraska.  College Sports Madness has named Ari Romero a first team All-American for her excellent play this season.  Jaycie Johnson's was also named on Top Draw Soccer's Team of the Week.

Here are a few more tweets to get you ready for the NCAA Women's Soccer Tournament.