clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Nebraska's Kyler Reed On Mackey Award Watch List

New, 1 comment
Getty Images

Nebraska tight end Kyler Reed was selected as part of the Mackey Award watch list, released today by the Nassau County Sports Commission.

Reed had 15 receptions for 257 yards and one touchdown last season, but in 2010 totaled 22 receptions for 395 yards and eight touchdowns and a 28.2 yard per catch average.

Reed is considered a big-play threat for Nebraska, as capable of being a slot receiver as much of a tight end.

Other Big Ten selections include Ted Bolser, Indiana; C.J. Fiederowicz, Iowa; Jacob Pedersen, Wisconsin; Dion Sims, Michigan State and Jake Stoneburner, Ohio State.

It's surprising that Reed made the list in place of Ben Cotton, although Cotton only had 14 receptions last year for 189 yards and no touchdowns. Cotton is the better blocker, and whether or not you believe he should be on the list in place of Reed has probably as much to do with how you define a tight end as much as anything.

The full watch list is after the jump.

Alex Bayer, Bowling Green
Ted Bolser, Indiana
• Chase Clement, LSU
Jack Doyle, Western Kentucky
Tyler Eifert, Notre Dame
Gavin Escobar, San Diego State
Joseph Fauria, UCLA
C.J. Fiedorowicz, Iowa
• Brandon Ford, Clemson
Matt Furstenburg, Maryland
Crockett Gillmore, Colorado State
Chris Gragg, Arkansas
Hubie Graham, Pittsburgh
• Ryan Griffin, Connecticut
Chase Harper, Texas State
Garrett Hoskins, Eastern Michigan
• Malcolm Johnson, Mississippi State
• Phil Lutzenkirchen, Auburn
• Jordan Najvar, Baylor
Ryan Otten, San Jose State
Chris Pantale, Boston College
Jacob Pedersen, Wisconsin
Mike Ragone, Kansas
• Kyler Reed, Nebraska
Lucas Reed, New Mexico
Jordan Reed, Florida
• Mychal Rivera, Tennessee
Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington
• Dion Sims, Michigan State
Jake Stoneburner, Ohio State
Levine Toilolo, Stanford
• Michael Williams, Alabama
Luke Willson, Rice