clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Big Ten Baseball Tournament Bracket Released

Big Ten Logo
Big Ten Logo

The Big Ten conference has released the bracket for the 2012 Big Ten baseball tournament. The tournament is a double elimination format featuring the top six teams of the conference and is being played at Huntington Park in Columbus, Ohio. (Warning: clicking on the Huntington Park link at this time will bring up a photo of REO Speedwagon trying to masquerade as twenty-somethings.)

Purdue earned the #1 seed after winning their first Ben Ten title since 1909. The Boilermakers finished with a 17-7 record and this is the first time in the history of the tournament that Purdue is the top seed. Indiana earned the #2 seed with a 16-8 record. Those two teams will earn a bye in the first round.

The next seeds in order are Penn State (15-9), Nebraska (14-10), Michigan State (13-11) and Ohio State (11-13). Ohio State tied with Minnesota and Illinois, but won the three-team tiebreaker.

The tourney will start Wednesday at 11:05 AM Central when Nebraska takes on Michigan State. The next game will start at approximately 2:35 PM Central as Ohio State takes on Penn State.


1. Purdue

2. Indiana

3. Penn State

4. Nebraska

5. Michigan State

6. Ohio State

All Big Ten baseball tournament games will be broadcast live on BTN and should be available online on (For Nebraska fans - remember the past few seasons when the only Big 12 tournament baseball event broadcast was the championship game? OH HOW TIMES HAVE CHANGED!)

Complete bracket and TV listings are included in this PDF file: 2012 Big Ten Baseball Tournament bracket