clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bell & Evans Passed Over For All-Big Ten Honors, But Not Long, Martinez, Martin, & Stafford

Spencer Long was the only consensus all-Big Ten selection, but Taylor Martinez, Eric Martin, Daimion Stafford, and Brett Maher earned honors on one of the teams.

Gregory Shamus

The Big Ten announced their all-conference teams this evening as selected by the league's coaches and media members. To nobody's surprise, Spencer Long was a consensus first team pick at offensive guard. Taylor Martinez was named first-team all-Big Ten at quarterback by the league's coaches; the media selected Braxton Miller of Ohio State. That's a pleasant surprise. While I thought Martinez was deserving of honors, I assumed that Braxton Miller would get the nod based on the head-to-head results and the fact that Ohio State went undefeated.

Defensive end Eric Martin, who emerged as perhaps the league's best pass rusher at the end of the season, was a first team selection by the media. He was joined on the media first team by safety Daimion Stafford and Brett Maher as placekicker. The coaches named Martin, Stafford, and Maher to second-team honors.

Kenny Bell was inexplicably named to the second-team all-Big Ten team behind Wisconsin's Jared Abbrederis. Both caught 44 passes this season, but Bell outperformed Abbrederis 789 yards to 764 and eight touchdowns to only five for the Badger. Ciante Evans was also snubbed, only earning honorable mention honors.

Other Huskers named to the second team were I-back Ameer Abdullah (coaches), offensive tackle Jeremiah Sirles (consensus coaches and media), defensive tackle Baker Steinkuhler (coaches), linebacker Will Compton (coaches), and punter Brett Maher (coaches).

Honorable mention honors went to tight end Ben Cotton (consensus), center Justin Jackson (consensus), safety P. J. Smith (consensus), and tight end Kyler Reed (media).

The Big Ten's coaches also honored I-back Rex Burkhead with the team's "Sportsmanship Award".