clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Countdown: 29 - Mike Rozier. Nebraska's Second Heisman Winner

In 1983, Nebraska scored a lot of points. 654 to be exact. In 13 games this averaged out to be just over 50 points per game. Leading the way was Mike Rozier. With Nebraska's offense humming, Rozier amassed 29 touchdowns in 1983. This is still a Nebraska single season rushing record. In addition to this record, in 1983, Rozier also set Nebraska records records for rushing yards per season (2148), yards per game (179), eleven 100-yard games, and four 200-yard games (which were all consecutive). Up until Roy Helu's game last season, he also held the records for rushing yards per quarter (135).

Rozier's 29 TD's in 1983 would be a record in Big Ten play. Some of the best Big Ten rushers include (but not limited to): Illinois' Rashard Mendenhall (17 TD in 2007), Indiana's Anthony Thompson (24 in both 1988 and 1989), Michigan's Ron Johnson (19 TD in 1968), Michigan State's Sedrick Irvin (18 TD in 1996), Minnesota's Gary Russell (18 in 2005), Penn State's Lydell Mitchell (26 TD in 1971), Purdue's Kori Sheets (2008) and Tony Butkovich (1943) both had 16 TD, Ron Dayne (19 TD in 1999) and Ohio State's Pete Johnson (25 TD in 1975).

Mike won the Heisman trophy in 1983 because of what he accomplished on the field. He pretty much ran away with the trophy, but it is interesting that Turner Gill finished 4th in the voting that year.

1 Mike Rozier Nebraska 1801

2 Steve Young BYU 1172

3 Doug Flutie Boston College 253

4 Turner Gill Nebraska 190

5 Terry Hoage Georgia 112

I was too young to remember Rozier. I would have been 5 years old when the 1983 team was mowing people down. Gotta take what I can get, I suppose.