clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Countdown: 46 - Outland U

The Outland Trophy is awarded to the "best interior offensive or defensive lineman in the country". It has been awarded since 1946. The University of Nebraska has the honor of having the most Outland Trophy's in the nation.  There have been nine awarded to players from Nebraska.  Who is second on this list?  Oklahoma, with five. The last player from Nebraska to with the Outland was Ndamukung Suh (2009).  Gabe Carimi, from Wisconsin, won the award last year.

Outland Trophies by school:

Nebraska - 9

Oklahoma - 5

Ohio State - 4

Iowa - 3

Minnesota - 3

Notre Dame - 3

Texas - 3

Nebraska's Outland Winners:

1971 - Larry Jacobson DT

1972 - Rich Glover MG

1981 - Dave Rimington C

1982 - Dave Rimington C

1983 - Dean Steinkuhler G

1992 - Will Shields G

1994 - Zah Wiegert OT

1997 - Aaron Taylor G

2009 - Ndamukong Suh


Nebraska is known as Outland U because they have brought home the trophy so many times. There was a streak of three years in a row where a Husker won the award. Dave Rimington is the only person to have won the award twice.  Also, the award ceremony is held annually in Omaha, NE, at the Doubletree hotel.

The Outland Trophy watch list typically comes out around the first day of summer (June 21st) and it is very likely that the Husker's will have at least one guy on that list.  Jared Crick and Mike Caputo are the most likely to be on this list.