clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Countdown: 63 - Nebraska Women's Basketball

In 1975, the University of Nebraska stared up the Women's Basketball program. In the 36-year history, the team has only won 2 conference titles (1988, 2010), but they have been competitive and have reached the post-season 16 times. They were in the AIAW tournament in 1976, 1979, 1980 and 1981, the WNIT in 2004, 2005, 2006, and 2009, and the NCAA tournament in 1988, 1993, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2007, 2008, 2010. The teams best finish was in 2010 when they had a 32-2 record and lost to Kentucky in the Sweet Sixteen.


Kelsey Griffin lead the 32-2 Huskers in 2010.

The ladies didn't have such a hot year this year. They had a young team (4 upper classmen and 8 freshmen/sophomores) and lost Griffin due to graduation. Next year they will start to play in the Big Ten. What's to be expected there?  Every school in the Big Ten has a women's basketball team. This past year, Michigan State took home the league title with a 13-3 record. NCAA tournament teams included Purdue (lost 2nd round), Penn State (lost 2nd round), Ohio State (lost sweet sixteen), Iowa (lost opening round), and Michigan State (lost 2nd round).  If Connie Yori can keep the Huskers improving, they should be able to compete in the Big Ten and get back to the NCAA tournament.