clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2009 All-Big 12 Football Awards - Suh Defensive Player of the Year, Crick, Amukamara, Asante Make First Team

New, 11 comments

The 2009 All-Big 12 football awards have been announced, with some nice surprises for Husker fans.

Ndamukong Suh was named Defensive Player of the Year and Defensive Lineman of the Year. He and Texas quarterback Colt McCoy were the only unanimously-selected players on the first team. Is that appropriate or what?

Nebraska placed four on the first-team All-Big 12 list, all from the defense including defensive linemen Suh and Jared Crick. Cornerback Prince Amukamara and safety Larry Asante from the secondary. The selections should give pause to Texas fans who are convinced the Blackshirts are lacking in pass defense.

Roy Helu made second team, as did Alex Henery as placekicker. Phillip Dillard gets rewarded with a second-team placement at ilnebacker, a great recognition of how far he's come since spring. 

Mack Brown as coach of the year..... I'm not sold on that. Brown has all the players, had a pathetically easy non-conference schedule, and didn't have to deal with the NCAA suspending any star players. The guy had an easy path to where he is now. Why coach of the year for him?

Interesting to note that Texas did not have a single offensive or defensive lineman selected on the first team. Instead Chris Hall and Adam Ulatoski dropped to second on offense, and Sergio Kindle and Lamarr Houston are regulated to second team defense.

The complete list of awards is after the jump.


Coach of the Year Mack Brown, Texas
Offensive Lineman of the Year Russell Okung, Oklahoma State
Defensive Lineman of the Year Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska
Offensive Freshman of the Year Christine Michael, Texas A&M
Defensive Freshman of the Year Aldon Smith, Missouri
Special Teams Player of the Year Brandon Banks, Kansas State
Defensive Newcomer of the Year David Sims, Iowa State
Offensive Newcomer of the Year Daniel Thomas, Kansas State
Defensive Player of the Year Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska
Offensive Player of the Year Colt McCoy, Texas



Pos. Player School Class Hometown/Previous School(s)
QB Colt McCoy ** Texas Sr. Tuscola, Texas/Jim Ned
RB Daniel Thomas Kansas State Jr. Hilliard, Fla./NW Mississippi CC
RB Keith Toston Oklahoma State Sr. Angleton, Texas/Angleton
FB Bryant Ward Oklahoma State Jr. Stillwater, Okla./Stillwater
WR Jordan Shipley Texas Sr. Burnet, Texas/Burnet
WR Danario Alexander Missouri Sr. Marlin, Texas/Marlin
WR Dezmon Briscoe Kansas Jr. Dallas, Texas/Cedar Hill
TE Jeron Mastrud Kansas State Sr. Beaverton, Ore./Southridge
OL Russell Okung ^ Oklahoma State Sr. Houston, Texas/Bush
OL Trent Williams ^ Oklahoma Sr. Longview, Texas/Longview
OL Nick Stringer Kansas State Sr. Topeka, Kan./Hayden
OL Brandon Carter Texas Tech Sr. Longview, Texas/Spring Hill
OL Nate Solder Colorado Jr. Buena Vista, Colo./Buena Vista
PK Grant Ressel Missouri So. Jackson, Mo./Jackson
KR/PR Brandon Banks Kansas State Sr. Garner, N.C./Bakersfield College
DL Ndamukong Suh ** Nebraska Sr. Portland, Ore./Grant
DL Gerald McCoy ^ Oklahoma Jr. Oklahoma City, Okla./Southeast
DL Von Miller Texas A&M Jr. DeSoto, Texas/DeSoto
DL Brandon Sharpe Texas Tech Sr. Lyons, Ga./Fresno City CC
DL Jared Crick Nebraska So. Cozad, Neb./Cozad
LB Sean Weatherspoon ^ Missouri Sr. Jasper, Texas/Jasper
LB Jesse Smith Iowa State Sr. Altoona, Iowa/Southeast Polk
LB Travis Lewis Oklahoma So. San Antonio, Texas/Robert E. Lee
DB Earl Thomas Texas So. Orange, Texas/West Orange Stark
DB Perrish Cox Oklahoma State Sr. Waco, Texas/University
DB Dominique Franks Oklahoma Jr. Tulsa, Okla./Union
DB Prince Amukamara Nebraska Jr. Glendale, Ariz./Apollo
DB Larry Asante Nebraska Sr. Alexandria, Va./Hayfield/Coffeyville CC
P Derek Epperson Baylor Jr. Southlake, Texas/Keller

** - Unanimous Selection
^ - Repeat first team selection from last season.


Pos. Player School Class Hometown/Previous School(s)
QB Jerrod Johnson Texas A&M Jr. Humble, Texas/Humble
RB Roy Helu Jr. Nebraska Jr. Danville, Calif./San Ramon Valley
RB DeMarco Murray Oklahoma Jr. Las Vegas, Nev./Bishop Gorman
FB Jamie McCoy Texas A&M Sr. Midland, Texas/Lee
WR Ryan Broyles Oklahoma So. Norman, Okla./Norman
WR Kerry Meier Kansas Sr. Pittsburg, Kan./Pittsburg
WR Brandon Banks Kansas State Sr. Garner, N.C./Bakersfield College
TE Riar Geer Colorado Sr. Grand Junction, Colo./Fruita-Monument
OL J.D. Walton Baylor Sr. Allen, Texas/Allen/Arizona State
OL Chris Hall # Texas Sr. Irving, Texas/Irving
OL Kurtis Gregory # Missouri Sr. Blackburn, Mo./Santa Fe
OL Adam Ulatoski Texas Sr. Southlake, Texas/Carroll
OL Brody Eldridge Oklahoma Sr. La Cygne, Kan./Prairie View
OL Lee Grimes Texas A&M Sr. Brownwood, Texas/Brownwood
PK Alex Henery Nebraska Jr. Omaha, Neb./Burke
KR/PR Perrish Cox Oklahoma State Sr. Waco, Texas/University
DL Sergio Kindle Texas Sr. Dallas, Texas/Woodrow Wilson
DL Lamarr Houston Texas Sr. Colorado Springs, Colo./Doherty
DL Jeremy Beal # Oklahoma Jr. Carrollton, Texas/Creekview
DL Jaron Baston Missouri Sr. Blue Springs, Mo./Blue Springs
DL Daniel Howard Texas Tech Sr. Wichita, Kan./Butler County CC
LB Joe Pawelek Baylor Sr. San Antonio, Texas/Smithson Valley
LB Roddrick Muckelroy Texas Sr. Hallsville, Texas/Hallsville
LB Phillip Dillard Nebraska Sr. Tulsa, Okla./Jenks
DB Jamar Wall Texas Tech Sr. Plainview, Texas/Planview
DB Quinton Carter Oklahoma Jr. Las Vegas, Nev./Cheyenne
DB Brian Jackson Oklahoma Sr. De Soto, Texas/De Soto
DB Jordan Lake Baylor Sr. Houston, Texas/Memorial
DB Cha'pelle Brown Colorado Sr. La Puente, Calif./Los Altos
DB Trent Hunter Texas A&M So. Katy, Texas/Katy
P Tress Way Oklahoma Fr. Tulsa, Okla./Union

A tie in voting created an additional second-team offensive line and defensive back spot.
# - Repeat second team selection from last season.


Baylor Justin Akers, TE; David Gettis, WR; Jason Lamb, DL; J.D. Walton, Off. Lmn of Yr.; Kendall Wright, WR
Colorado Jake Behrens, FB; Jalil Brown, DB; Benjamin Burney, DB; Marquez Herrod, DL; Scotty McKnight, WR; Ryan Miller, OL; Jeff Smart, LB; Jimmy Smith, DB; Rodney Stewart, RB
Iowa State Michael Brandtner, P; Kelechi Osemele, OL; Paul Rhoads, Coach of Yr.; Alexander Robinson, RB; Reggie Stephens, OL
Kansas Tanner Hawkinson, OL; Jake Laptad, DL; Todd Reesing, QB; Alonso Rojas, P; Darrell Stuckey, DB
Kansas State Jeffrey Fitzgerald, DL; Tysyn Hartman, DB; Joshua Moore, DB; Bill Snyder, Coach of Yr
Missouri Danario Alexander, Off. Ply. of Yr.; Carl Gettis, DB; Jake Harry, P; Dan Hoch, OL; Jared Perry, WR; Kevin Rutland, DB; Jasper Simmons, DB & Def Nwcmr. of Yr.; Aldon Smith, DL; Derrick Washington, RB
Nebraska Dejon Gomes, DB & Def Nwcmr. of Yr.; Eric Hagg, DB; Alex Henery, P; Jacob Hickman, OL; Mike McNeill, TE; Matt O'Hanlon, DB; Niles Paul, WR; Barry Turner, DL
Oklahoma Jeremy Beal, Def Ply of Yr.; Chris Brown, RB; Ryan Broyles, PR/KR; Keenan Clayton, LB; Auston English, DL; Landry Jones, Off. Fr. of Yr.; Jonathan Nelson, DB; Gerald McCoy Def. Lmn. of Yr. & Def Ply of Yr.; Ryan Reynolds, LB; Adrian Taylor, DL; Trent Williams, Off. Lmn of Yr
Oklahoma State Hubert Anyiam, WR; Ugo Chinasa, DL; Patrick Lavine, LB; Swanson Miller, DL; Zac Robinson, QB; Andre Sexton, LB; Quinn Sharp, P
Texas Emmanuel Acho, LB; Sam Acho, DL; Curtis Brown, DB; Blake Gideon, DB; Kyle Hix, OL; Michael Huey, OL; Sergio Kindle, Def. Lmn. of Yr.; Hunter Lawrence, PK; Alex Okafor, Def. Fr. of Yr.; Keenan Robinson, LB; Jordan Shipley, PR/KR; Charlie Tanner, OL
Texas A&M Ryan Epperson, P; Jeff Fuller, WR; Cyrus Gray, RB & PR/KR; Michael Hodges Def Nwcmr. of Yr.; Jerrod Johnson, Off. Ply. of Yr.; Patrick Lewis, OL; Kevin Matthews, OL; Jamie McCoy, TE; Von Miller Def. Lmn. of Yr. & Def Ply of Yr.; Uzoma Nwachukwu, WR & Off. Fr. of Yr.; Jordan Pugh, DB; Ryan Tannehill, WR; Garrick Williams, LB
Texas Tech Baron Batch, RB; Bront Bird, LB; Cody Davis, Def. Fr. of Yr.; Alex Torres, Off. Fr. of Yr.; Colby Whitlock, DL; Marlon Winn, OL