clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ndamukong Suh A Finalist For the Lott Trophy

A day behind on this but Ndamukong Suh is a finalist for yet another award as finalists for the Lott Trophy were named yesterday.  Suh also is a finalist for the Lombardi Award, Outland Trophy, Nagurski Trophy and the Bednarik Award. He's also among 15 players on the "players to watch list" for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.

Finalists for the Lott Trophy are Safety Eric Berry of Tennessee, Defensive End Jerry Hughes of TCU, Linebacker Rolando McClain of Alabama and Defensive Tackle Ndamukong Suh of Nebraska.


Berry is a junior from Fairburn, Georgia who was the SEC Defensive Player of the Year as a sophomore and is widely considered the best defensive back in the country.  He was twice selected the Lott Player of the Week this season.

Hughes is a senior from Sugar Land, Texas who was converted from a high school running back to defense as a freshman.  Hughes was the Mountain West Conference Defensive Player of the Year last season when he led the country in sacks with 15.  This year, in addition to his continued stellar play on the field, he has been honored as a local hero for his community involvement in the Fort Worth area.

is a junior from Decatur, Georgia who is the driving force on an Alabama defense that has been superb in leading the Crimson Tide to an undefeated (12-0) season.

Suh is a 300-pound senior from Portland, Oregon who has been the dominant defensive player in the country, credited with 22 quarterback hurries and 16 tackles for losses.  He's been named a Lott Player of the Week a record three times this season.

The Lott Trophy is awarded annually to the nation's best defensive player. It is the first time Tennessee, TCU and Nebraska have had a finalist for the Lott Trophy.

        Past winners of The Lott Trophy:

        2004 - David Pollack, Georgia

        2005 - DeMeco Ryans, Alabama

        2006 - Dante Hughes, California

        2007 - Glenn Dorsey, LSU

        2008 - James Laurinaitis, Ohio State