clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Suh Makes All-Big 12 First Team Defense for AP, DMN

After being overlooked by the Big 12 coaches, Ndamukong Suh was selected as first team All Big 12 by the Associated Press and the Dallas Morning News.The full list for the AP is after the jump, the DMN list hasn't been placed here, but remains at their site.

Matt Slauson and Alex Henery made the second-team AP offense.

Honorable Mentions for Nebraska include:

Lydon Murtha
Zach Potter
Nate Swift - as both a Receiver and All-Purpose
Larry Asante


Suh, Henery, and Larry Asante will return next season. Other than Joe Ganz, Nate Swift will be the most missed player. Agree?

To be honest, I have no idea how Lydon Murtha made this list, even as Honorable Mention. The guy was injured too often if nothing else. If someone wants to defend that selection, please feel free to do so.

Coach of the Year Honors went to Mike Leach, as opposed to the Big 12 Coaches who gave it to Bob Stoops. Leach is a much better choice.

Offensive player of the year went to Colt McCoy. That's pretty fitting - it was apparent in 2007 that Texas lived or died dependent upon McCoy's play. He had a great season this year and so has Texas.

Defensive Player of the year went to Brian Orakpo from the AP, while the DMN chose Oklahoma's DT Gerald McCoy. Both are deserving, although Orakpo was just a monster all season.

Here are the AP Selections:

Offensive player of the year — Colt McCoy, Texas
Defensive player of the year — Brian Orakpo, Texas
Offensive newcomer of the year — Robert Griffin, Baylor
Defensive newcomer of the year — Travis Lewis, Oklahoma
Coach of the year — Mike Leach, Texas Tech

Jon Cooper, Oklahoma, 6-2, 285, Sr., Fort Collins, Colo.
Offensive Line
(tie) Phil Loadholt, Oklahoma, 6-8, 350, Sr., Fountain, Colo.
(tie) Russell Okung, Oklahoma State, 6-5, 290, Jr., Fort Bend, Texas
Rylan Reed, Texas Tech, 6-7, 294, Sr., Dallas
Duke Robinson, Oklahoma, 6-5, 330, Sr., Atlanta
Jason Smith, Baylor, 6-5, 298, Sr., Dallas
Tight End
Chase Coffman, Missouri, 6-6, 245, Sr., Peculiar, Mo.
Dez Bryant, Oklahoma State, 6-2, 210, Soph., Lufkin, Texas
u-Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech, 6-3, 206, Soph., Dallas
Jeremy Maclin, Missouri, 6-1, 200, Soph., Kirkwood, Mo.
Running Back
u-Kendall Hunter, Oklahoma State, 5-8, 180, Soph., Tyler, Texas
Sam Bradford, Oklahoma, 6-5, 213, Soph., Oklahoma City
Jeremy Maclin, Missouri, 6-1, 200, Soph., Kirkwood, Mo.
Jeff Wolfert, Missouri, 6-2, 185, Sr., Overland Park, Kan.


Defensive Line
Jeremy Beal, Oklahoma, 6-4, 254, Soph., Carrollton, Texas
u-Brian Orakpo, Texas, 6-4, 260, Sr., Houston
Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska, 6-4, 300, Jr., Portland, Ore.
Brandon Williams, Texas Tech, 6-5, 248, Jr., Fort Worth, Texas
James Holt, Kansas, 6-3, 222, Sr., Altus, Okla.
Travis Lewis, Oklahoma, 6-2, 220, Fr., San Antonio
Joe Pawelek, Baylor, 6-3, 236, Jr., San Antonio
Sean Weatherspoon, Missouri, 6-1, 235, Jr., Jasper, Texas
Defensive Back
Daniel Charbonnet, Texas Tech, 5-11, 188, Sr., The Woodlands, Texas
Jordan Lake, Baylor, 6-2, 206, Jr., Houston
Darcel McBath, Texas Tech, 6-1, 197, Sr., Gainesville, Texas
Darrell Stuckey, Kansas, 6-1, 205, Jr., Kansas City, Kan.
Justin Brantly, Texas A&M, 6-3, 241, Sr., Sealy, Texas


David Washington, Oklahoma State, 6-4, 305, Sr., Guthrie, Okla.
Offensive Line
Cedric Dockery, Texas, 6-4, 315, Sr., Garland, Texas
Matt Slauson, Nebraska, 6-5, 325, Sr., Colorado Springs, Colo.
Adam Ulatoski, Texas, 6-8, 302, Soph., Southlake, Texas
Louis Vasquez, Texas Tech, 6-6, 335, Sr., Corsicana, Texas
Tight End
Jermaine Gresham, Oklahoma, 6-6, 250, Jr., Ardmore, Okla.
Dezmon Briscoe, Kansas, 6-3, 200, Soph., Dallas
Quan Cosby, Texas, 5-11, 200, Sr., Mart, Texas
Jordan Shipley, Texas, 6-0, 190, Sr., Burnet, Texas
Running Back
DeMarco Murray, Oklahoma, 6-0, 191, Soph., Las Vegas
Colt McCoy, Texas, 6-3, 210, Jr., Tuscola, Texas
DeMarco Murray, Oklahoma, 6-0, 191, Soph., Las Vegas
Alex Henery, Nebraska, 6-2, 170, Soph., Omaha, Neb.

Defensive Line
George Hypolite, Colorado, 6-1, 285, Sr., Los Angeles
Gerald McCoy, Oklahoma, 6-4, 289, Soph., Oklahoma City
Roy Miller, Texas, 6-2, 295, Sr., Killeen, Texas
Stryker Sulak, Missouri, 6-5, 250, Sr., Rockdale, Texas
Sergio Kindle, Texas, 6-4, 239, Jr., Dallas
Rod Muckelroy, Texas, 6-2, 235, Jr., Hallsville, Texas
Andre Sexton, Oklahoma State, 6-1, 210, Jr., Houston
Jeff Smart, Colorado, 6-0, 210, Jr., Boulder, Colo.
Defensive Back
Dominique Franks, Oklahoma, 5-11, 183, Soph., Tulsa, Okla.
Nic Harris, Oklahoma, 6-3, 226, Sr., Alexandria, La.
Lendy Holmes, Oklahoma, 6-1, 196, Sr., Dallas
William Moore, Missouri, 6-1, 230, Sr., Hayti, Mo.
Matt Fodge, Oklahoma State, 6-1, 195, Sr., Garland, Texas

Centers: Ryan Cantrell, Kansas; Chris Hall, Texas; Stephen Hamby, Texas Tech; Daniel Sanders, Colorado; J.D. Walton, Baylor.
Offensive line: James Barnard, Baylor; Colin Brown, Missouri; Brandon Carter, Texas Tech; Kurtis Gregory, Missouri; Adrian Mayes, Kansas; Lyndon Murtha, Nebraska; Brandon Walker, Oklahoma; Trent Williams, Oklahoma.
Tight end: Brandon Pettigrew, Oklahoma State.
Receiver: Brandon Banks, Kansas State; Juaquin Iglesias, Oklahoma; Kerry Meier, Kansas; Nate Swift, Nebraska.
Running back: Chris Brown, Oklahoma; Jake Sharp, Kansas; Derrick Washington, Missouri.
Quarterback: Graham Harrell, Texas Tech.
All-purpose: Brandon Banks, Kansas State; Baron Batch, Texas Tech; Dez Bryant, Oklahoma State; Quan Cosby, Texas; Perrish Cox, Oklahoma State; Cyrus Gray, Texas A&M Jordan Shipley, Texas; Josh Smith, Colorado; Nate Swift, Nebraska.
Kicker: Dan Bailey, Oklahoma State; Hunter Lawrence, Texas; Grant Mahoney, Iowa State.
Defensive line: Frank Alexander, Oklahoma; Ian Campbell, Kansas State; Eric Childs, Kansas State; McKinner Dixon, Texas Tech; Auston English, Oklahoma; Brandon Harold, Kansas State; Ziggy Hood, Missouri; Cyril Obiozor, Texas A&M, Zach Potter, Nebraska; Kurtis Taylor, Iowa State; Colby Whitlock, Texas Tech.
Linebacker: Rashad Bobino, Texas; Keenan Clayton, Oklahoma; Brian Duncan, Texas Tech; Matt Featherston, Texas A&M Brad Jones, Colorado; Shaun Mohler, Colorado; Joe Mortensen, Kansas; Ryan Reynolds, Oklahoma.
Defensive back: Larry Asante, Nebraska; Castine Bridges, Missouri; Cha’pelle Brown, Colorado; Alton Dixon, Texas A&M Carl Gettis, Missouri; Brian Jackson, Oklahoma; Jacob Lacey, Oklahoma State; Joshua Moore, Kansas State; Ryan Palmer, Texas; Ricky Price, Oklahoma State; James Smith, Iowa State; Jamar Wall, Texas Tech; Ryan Walters, Colorado; Earl Thomas, Texas.
Punter: Mike Brandtner, Iowa State; Derek Epperson, Baylor.