Taylor Martinez Named Semifinalist For Davey O'Brien Award

Nebraska's Taylor Martinez is the only freshman quarterback in the nation to be named a finalist for the Davey O'Brien Award. The Davey O'Brien Award has been given to the nation's best quarterback every season since 1981.

Other Big 12 quarterbacks on the list include Oklahoma's Landry Jones, Missouri's Blaine Gabbert, and Baylor's Robert Griffin.

Three finalists will be selected on Monday, November 22nd. Fans can vote once daily up until November 21st for the quarterback of their choice here.

The full list and official release are after the jump.

Narrowed down from all 120 quarterbacks from NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools, semifinalists were selected by The O'Brien National Selection Committee, with the Fan Vote accounting for five percent of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider the following criteria: quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship. 

The list highlights seven juniors, five sophomores, three seniors and one freshman. The Big Ten and Big 12 lead all conferences with four candidates. The Pac-10 is represented by three players.
Matt Barkley (So., USC), Kellen Moore (Jr., Boise State) and Ricky Stanzi (Sr., Iowa) are the only returning semifinalists.
2010 Davey O'Brien Semifinalists
Matt Barkley              SO         USC                        Pac-10
Kirk Cousins              JR          Michigan State          Big Ten
Andy Dalton               SR         TCU                         MWC
Blaine Gabbert            JR         Missouri                    Big 12
Robert Griffin III         SO        Baylor                       Big 12
Landry Jones              SO        Oklahoma                  Big 12
Colin Kaepernick        SR        Nevada                      WAC
Andrew Luck              JR         Stanford                    Pac-10
Ryan Mallett                JR         Arkansas                   SEC
Taylor Martinez           FR        Nebraska                   Big 12
Kellen Moore              JR         Boise State                WAC
Cam Newton               JR         Auburn                      SEC
Terrelle Pryor              JR         Ohio State                 Big Ten
Denard Robinson         SO        Michigan                   Big Ten
Ricky Stanzi                 SR        Iowa                         Big Ten
Darron Thomas            SO       Oregon                      Pac-10
Fans may now help determine which three quarterbacks will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. Fan voting will close at noon (CT) on Nov. 21.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Corn Nation

You must be a member of Corn Nation to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Corn Nation. You should read them.

Join Corn Nation

You must be a member of Corn Nation to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Corn Nation. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.